Hawkeyes In Fourth Place

Dec. 29, 2006


The University of Iowa wrestling team is in fourth place with 32 points after the first session of competition at the 44th annual Midlands Championships in Evanston, IL. Iowa State leads the team standings with 46 points. Six Hawkeyes advanced to Friday night’s championship quarterfinals and eight are still competing in the consolation bracket.

Advancing to the championships quarterfinals are Iowa seniors Mario Galanakis (133-#3) and Eric Luedke (174-#3), juniors Alex Tsirtsis (141-#2), Mark Perry (165-#1) and Matt Fields (Hwt.-#3), and redshirt freshman Ryan Morningstar (157-#5). Perry, the top seed at 165, picked up his 55th career win pinning Eastern Michigan’s Nick Conklin in 3:39 in the second round. Tsirtsis, Perry, Fields and Morningstar will all face seeded competitors in the quarterfinals.

Friday night’s championship quarterfinals and consolation matches are scheduled to start at 7 p.m. (CT) in Welsh-Ryan Arena on the Northwestern University campus.

TEAM STANDINGS (Top 10 After First Session)
1. Iowa State 46.0
2. Northwestern 37.0
3. Indiana 33.5
4. Iowa 32.0
5. Central Michigan 31.0
6. Illinois 29.0
7. Michigan State 27.0
8. Purdue 25.0
9. American 24.0
10. Northern Illinois 23.0

125 Pounds
Rollie Peterkin (PN) dec. #6 Charlie Falck (I), 11-5
Falck (I) maj. dec Mark Kist (UNAT), 18-8

133 Pounds
#3 Mario Galanakis (I) pinned Mike Ryan (HR), 4:41
Galanakis (I) maj. dec. Zac Cunliffe (RID), 8-0
Galanakis (I) dec. Andrew Gold (PENN), 6-5

Sean Schmaltz (PUR) dec. Lucas Magnani (I), 3-2
Magnani (I) maj. dec. Laramie Shaffer (ISU), 12-4
Magnani (I) tech. fall Ben Hart (CHI), 16-1, 4:31

141 Pounds
#2 Alex Tsirtsis (I) maj. dec. Nick Walpole (IN), 10-2
Tsirtsis (I) dec. Nick Bertucci (PUR), 4-0

Jeff Wimberly (MSU) dec. Derek Coorough (I), 15-8
Coorough (I) default Franky Fancois (UNAT)
Coorough (I) dec. David Pienaar (EMU), 11-7

149 Pounds
#8 Jake Patacsil (PUR) pinned Alex Grunder (I), 2:37
Grunder (I) dec. Jason Roush (MTJ), 5-0
Chris Davis (SHU) dec. Grunder (I), 9-6

Mike Roberts (BU) dec. Brett Stedman (I), 5-2
Ryan Hurley (CSU) dec. Stedman (I), 4-3

157 Pounds
#5 Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Joe Rujawitz (SIE), 5-0
Morningstar (I) dec. Kyle Katz (ELM), 8-6

Brad Medchill (I) dec. Rob Morrison (RID), 5-3
Medchill (I) pinned Tyler Reiner (UNI), 4:50
#3 Michael Poeta (ILL) maj. dec. Medchill (I), 17-4

165 Pounds
#1 Mark Perry (I) dec. Brock Wittmeyer (PENN), 6-1
Perry (I) pinned Nick Conklin (EMU), 3:39

#2 Travis Paulson (ISU) tech. fall Joe Uker (I), 25-10, 6:14
Uker (I) dec. Austin Torres (SFST), 7-2

174 Pounds
#3 Eric Luedke (I) tech. fall Ryan Pritchard (WB), 20-5, 6:24
Luedke (I) pinned Tommy Clark (WLST), 4:07

Chad Beatty (I) dec. Tobin Boltz (WHEAT), 6-2
Beatty (I) dec. #8 J.D. Naig (UNO), 3-2
Nick Guida (ILL) dec. Beatty (I), 6-5

184 Pounds
Duke Burk (NIU) dec. Phillip Keddy (I), 5-2
Terrence Madden (UNAT) dec. Keddy (I), 7-5 SV-1

Rick Loera (I) dec. Dwayne Hash (AMER), 13-7
Marc Bennett (IN) dec. Loera (I), 5-2

197 Pounds
#6 Jared Billers (WVU) dec. Dan Erekson (I), 7-2
Erekson (I) medical forfeit over Jason Sherko (EIU)

#3 Matt Fields (I) tech. fall Eric Daughtee (D), 22-7, 6:50
Fields (I) maj. dec. Josh Buuck (IN), 14-6