Iowa Beats Hofstra, 26-10

Jan. 14, 2007

CEDAR FALLS, IA – The University of Iowa wrestling team defeated third-seed Hofstra, 26-10, to place fifth Sunday at the N.W.C.A./Cliff Keen National Duals in Cedar Falls, IA. It is the first time that Iowa placed fifth in its 15-year history at the tournament. The Hawkeyes have won the team title three times, placed second three times, placed third six times and placed sixth once. Iowa improved to 9-1 on the season with the win, while Hofstra fell to 10-2-2.

Iowa, the fifth-seed, opened the dual with wins at the first four weight classes. Sophomore Charlie Falck picked up his 25th career win with an 11-2 major decision over Hofstra’s Dave Tomasette at 125. Senior Mario Galanakis improved to 9-1 in dual competition with an 11-1 major decision over Lou Ruggirello at 133. Junior Alex Tsirtsis (141) and senior Alex Grunder (149) each followed up with decisions to give Iowa a 14-0 lead. Hofstra scored its first team points at 157 when fourth-ranked James Strouse scored an 8-0 major decision over Hawkeye redshirt freshman Ryan Morningstar. Iowa rebounded with junior Mark Perry taking a forfeit at 165 and senior Eric Luedke scoring his 40th career win with a 4-1 decision over Alton Lucas at 174. Luedke, the only Hawkeye to go 5-0 at the tournament, improved to 17-1 in collegiate matches and 8-0 in duals. Perry also improved to 13-2 in collegiate matches and 9-1 in duals with the forfeit.

Hofstra’s Joe Rovelli used a riding-time point to defeat redshirt freshman Phillip Keddy, 7-6 at 184, and fourth-ranked Chris Weidman scored a 10-5 win over sophomore Dan Erekson at 197. Hawkeye junior Matt Fields scored the final team points of the dual, winning a 7-2 decision against Matt Pollock at heavyweight.

Iowa (9-1) will hit the road for two dual matches next weekend. The Hawkeyes will get another shot at Oklahoma State (9-3) Friday at 8 p.m. at Gallagher-Iba Arena in Stillwater, OK. The dual will be aired live on ESPNU. Iowa will also open the 2007 Big Ten season Sunday against Northwestern (10-3) at Rolling Meadows High School in Rolling Meadows, IL.

Iowa 26, Hofstra 10
125 – Charlie Falck (I) maj. dec. Dave Tomasette (H), 11-2
133 – Mario Galanakis (I) maj. dec. Lou Ruggirello (H), 11-1
141 – Alex Tsirtsis (I) dec. Charles Griffin (H), 12-11
149 – Alex Grunder (I) dec. Mike Parziale (H), 7-2
157 – James Strouse (H) maj. dec. Ryan Morningstar (I), 8-0
165 – Mark Perry (I) won by forfeit
174 – Eric Luedke (I) dec. Alton Lucas (H), 4-1
184 – Joe Rovelli (H) dec. Phillip Keddy (I), 7-6
197 – Chris Weidman (H) dec. Dan Erekson (I), 10-5
Hwt. – Matt Fields (I) dec. Matt Pollock (H), 7-2