Hawkeyes Open Spring Season

Jan. 28, 2007

The University of Iowa men’s tennis team defeated Northern Illinois, 5-2, Sunday in the 2007 spring season debut. The Hawkeyes captured victories in two doubles matches and four singles matches.

In singles competition, Iowa lost matches in the first two positions. Junior Bart van Monsjou was defeated by Brian Livingston (6-0, 6-2) in the No. 1 spot. At No.2, sophomore Christian Bierich fell to Alex Friesen (6-4, 6-4). Junior J.P. Ritchie turned things around for the Hawkeyes by snagging a win in the No. 3 position against Adam Ford (6-3, 6-4). In the No. 4 spot, freshman Tommy McGeorge defeated Diego Zegarra-Ballon (6-3, 7-6 (2)). Sophomore Gregory Holm gave the Hawkeyes a win in the No. 5 spot by defeating Jimmy Chu (6-2, 6-2). Patrick Dwyer became the second freshman of the day to get a win for the Hawkeyes. He took down Javier Bernabe in the No. 6 position (6-2, 7-6 (3)).

Iowa won the doubles point with wins in the first and third doubles matches. Ritchie paired with van Monsjou in the No. 1 position to defeat Livingston and Ford (8-2). The Northern Illinois duo of Chu and Friesen took down Holm and Bierich (8-6) in the No. 2 match. The team of Dwyer and McGeorge defeated Monroy and Zegarra-Ballon (8-2) in the No. 3 match to gain the Hawkeyes’ second doubles victory.

“This was a good way to open our new facility,” said Head Coach Steve Houghton. “I am particularly pleased that we won with a line-up in which four of our top six players were freshmen and sophomores.”

The Hawkeyes will return to action Friday as they host Indiana State. Competition will begin at 1:30 p.m. in the Hawkeye Tennis and Recreation Complex.


Iowa 5
Northern Illinois 2

No. 1: Brian Livingston (NIU) def. Bart van Monsjou (Iowa) 6-0, 6-2
No. 2: Alex Friesen (NIU) def. Christian Bierich (Iowa) 6-4, 6-4
No. 3: J.P. Ritchie (Iowa) def. Adam Ford (NIU) 6-3, 6-4
No. 4: Tommy McGeorge (Iowa) def. Diego Zegarra-Ballon (NIU) 6-3, 7-6 (2)
No. 5: Gregory Holm (Iowa) def. Jimmy Chu (NIU) 6-2, 6-2
No. 6: Patrick Dwyer (Iowa) def. Javier Bernabe (NIU) 6-2, 7-6 (3)

No. 1: van Monsjou/Ritchie (Iowa) def. Livingston/Ford (NIU) 8-2
No. 2: Chu/Friesen (NIU) def. Holm/Bierich (Iowa) 8-6
No. 3: Dwyer/McGeorge (Iowa) def. Alfonso Monroy/Zegarra-Ballon (NIU) 8-2