Hawkeyes Will Face Illinois in Big Ten Tournament

May 20, 2007

IOWA CITY – The University of Iowa baseball team will be the No. 4 seed at the 2007 Big Ten Baseball Tournament in Ann Arbor, MI, next week. The University of Michigan will serve as host for the 2007 Big Ten Baseball Tournament after repeating as the regular season conference champion. The Wolverines will also welcome Illinois, Minnesota, Ohio State and Penn State to Ray Fisher Stadium for the 27th annual event, which will begin on Wednesday, May 23, and run through Saturday, May 26.

Iowa will open with fifth-seeded Illinois in game one Wednesday at 11:05 a.m. (CDT). The Hawkeyes took 3-of-4 games against the Fighting Illini at Banks Field earlier this season.

No. 3 Penn State will battle No. 6 Ohio State at approximately 3:35 p.m. ET. The top two seeds in the bracket will begin competition on Thursday as No. 1 Michigan will take on the lower seed of the first- and second-game winners, and No. 2 Minnesota will face the higher seed of the first- and second-game winners. The tournament champion will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

See The Big Ten Tournament Bracket HERE
Download Free Acrobat Reader