Hawkeyes Conclude Wrestle-Offs

Nov. 10, 2007

IOWA CITY, IA — The University of Iowa wrestling team held its final round of wrestle-offs Saturday morning at the Dan Gable Wrestling Complex in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. Sophomores Joe Slaton (133) and Phillip Keddy (184) collected pins in their matches, while sophomores Brent Metcalf (149) and Ryan Morningstar (157) tallied technical falls. Junior Charlie Falck (125) scored a major decision, while seniors Alex Tsirtsis (141), Mark Perry (165) and Matt Fields (Hwt.), and freshman Jordan Johnson (197) all recorded decisions. Tsirtsis’ match with sophomore Dan LeClere was the only one to advance to the sudden victory period, with the senior scoring a takedown to win 6-4.

A few Hawkeyes are competing today at the Harold Nichols/Cyclone Open in Ames. The team’s next competition will be Nov. 17 at the Kaufman-Brand Open in Omaha, NE. Iowa will open the 2007-08 dual season Nov. 24 at the St. Edward Duals in Lakewood, OH.

Saturday’s Final Results
125 – Charlie Falck maj. dec. J.J. Krutsinger, 16-2
133 – Joe Slaton pinned Thomas Magnani, 2:58
141 – Alex Tsirtsis dec. Dan LeClere, 6-4 SV
149 – Brent Metcalf tech. fall Matt Ballweg, 25-9
157 – Ryan Morningstar tech. fall T.H. Leet, 18-1 in 5:21
165 – Mark Perry dec. Jake Kerr, 6-1
184 – Phillip Keddy pinned Vinnie Wagner, 4:21
197 – Jordan Johnson dec. Brodie Ambrose, 3-2
Hwt. – Matt Fields dec. Blake Rasing, 6-3

Saturday’s Exhibition Matches
174 – Chad Beatty dec. Michael Fahrer, 9-5
174 – Jay Borschel pinned Weston Marling, 2:15

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.