Hawkeyes Head To Kaufman-Brand Open

Nov. 12, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format

The Iowa wrestlers will compete at the 25th annual Kaufman-Brand Open Saturday in Omaha, NE. Competition starts at 9 a.m. at the University of Nebraska-Omaha Fieldhouse. A total of 42 teams and approximately 650 wrestlers will compete at the meet. It’s easily the country’s largest single-day collegiate meet. The tournament will be wrestled in two age-based divisions – an elite (ages 21 and older) division and an amateur (ages 17-20) division.

Four current Hawkeyes have won individual titles at the Kaufman-Brand Open. Senior Alex Tsirtsis (141), junior Dan Erekson (Hwt.), sophomores Ryan Morningstar (157) and Brent Metcalf (149) have each won titles. Senior Matt Fields has placed second twice and third once at heavyweight.

Tsirtsis won the 141-pound open division in 2004, recording two decisions, a pin and a medical forfeit before defeating Northern Iowa’s C.J. Ettelson, 3-2, in the finals. He also placed second in 2005. Erekson won the 197-pound amateur division in 2006, going 4-0 on the day and defeating Nebraska-Kearney’s Kelsey Empting, 3-0, in the finals. He placed third in 2005. Morningstar won the 2005 157-pound amateur division, scoring two pins, a technical fall and two decisions en route to the title. Metcalf won the 149-pound elite division last season, pinning his first two opponents and earning three decisions en route to the title. He defeated former Hawkeye Todd Meneely of Nebraska-Omaha, 7-3, in the finals.

Three Hawkeyes competed unattached at the Harold Nichols/Cyclone Open Nov. 10 at Hilton Coliseum in Ames. Junior Dan Erekson placed third at heavyweight, while sophomore Luke Lofthouse (197) and redshirt freshman Aaron Janssen (165) placed fourth.

Erekson, who moved up to heavyweight after wrestling the last two seasons at 197, pinned unattached Kyle Simmonsen in 1:02 in the first round. He scored a 7-4 decision over Wisconsin-LaCrosse’s Dan Laurent before dropping a 3-1 decision to Iowa State’s David Zabriskie in the semifinals. Erekson responded with two decisions in the consolation bracket to place third.

Janssen also opened the tournament with a pin, but lost a 19-5 major decision to Iowa State’s Jonathan Reader in the second round. Janssen came back with three straight wins in the consolation bracket before losing a 3-2 decision to Tim Palmer of Wisconsin-LaCrosse in the third-place match.

Lofthouse, who competed in his first tournament since returning from a two-year Mormon mission to Africa, advanced to the semifinals with an 8-6 win over Iowa Central’s Joe Johnson and a 4:59 pin of Iowa State’s Joe Curran. He lost a 10-4 decision to T.J. Miller of Wartburg in the semifinals. Lofthouse lost a close 11-10 decision to unattached Jacob Marrs in the third-place match.

Iowa held three rounds of wrestle-offs over three days at the Dan Gable Wrestling Complex in Carver-Hawkeye Arena last week. Following are the results from each round:

Thursday’s Quarter-final Results
133 – Thomas Magnani maj. dec. Tyler Halverson, 21-9
165 – Weston Marling dec. Ryan Kurovski, 8-6

Friday’s Semi-final Results
133 – Joe Slaton tech. fall Tyler Halverson, 27-11 in 5:07
133 – Thomas Magnani pinned Montell Marion, 6:07
141 – Alex Tsirtsis tech. fall Ethan Sebert, 18-1 in 6:22
141 – Dan LeClere maj. dec. Derek Coorough, 20-7
149 – Brent Metcalf pinned Stew Gillmor, 2:23
149 – Matt Ballweg dec. Nick LeClere, 9-5
157 – T.H. Leet dec. Brooks Kopsa, 6-5
165 – Mark Perry pinned Weston Marling, 2:37
165 – Jake Kerr maj. dec. Michael Fahrer, 17-7
184 – Vinnie Wagner dec. Rick Loera, 10-4

Saturday’s Final Results
125 – Charlie Falck maj. dec. J.J. Krutsinger, 16-2
133 – Joe Slaton pinned Thomas Magnani, 2:58
141 – Alex Tsirtsis dec. Dan LeClere, 6-4 SV
149 – Brent Metcalf tech. fall Matt Ballweg, 25-9
157 – Ryan Morningstar tech. fall T.H. Leet, 18-1 in 5:21
165 – Mark Perry dec. Jake Kerr, 6-1
184 – Phillip Keddy pinned Vinnie Wagner, 4:21
197 – Jordan Johnson dec. Brodie Ambrose, 3-2
Hwt. – Matt Fields dec. Blake Rasing, 6-3

Saturday’s Exhibition Matches
174 – Chad Beatty dec. Michael Fahrer, 9-5
174 – Jay Borschel pinned Weston Marling, 2:15

Iowa’s overall dual meet record is 809-214-30 (.783) in 95 seasons. The Hawkeyes have won 20 national titles and 31 Big Ten titles. Iowa’s 48 NCAA champions have won a total of 74 NCAA individual titles, crowning six three-time and 13 two-time champions. The Hawkeyes’ 100 Big Ten champions have won a total of 181 conference titles. There have been seven four-time, 18 three-time and 24 two-time Iowa winners. Iowa’s 130 all-Americans have earned all-America status 266 times, including 16 four-time, 28 three-time and 32 two-time honorees.

Season tickets and single meet tickets for Iowa’s seven home duals are on sale at the University of Iowa Athletic Ticket Office or at 1-800-464-2957, 319-335-9327 or www.hawkeyesports.com. University of Iowa students will be admitted free to all matches with a student ID. Following are the ticket prices:

Season Tickets – $48 – General Public, $42 University Faculty & Staff
Single-Match Tickets Purchased in Advance – $8 – Adults, $4 – Youth
Single-Match Tickets Purchased at the Door – $10 – Adults, $5 – Youth

Radio – Steven Grace and two-time Hawkeye NCAA champion and four-time all-American Mark Ironside will call the action live on AM-800, KXIC. All dual meets will be broadcast live, as will action from the Big Ten and NCAA tournaments. Live audio broadcasts from all competitions will also be available online at www.hawkeyesports.com. To listen online, go to the wrestling schedule, click on the event and click on the Listen link. Broadcasts are available using the Hawkeye All-Access subscription ($9.95 per month or $79.95 per year) or the CSTV XXL Premium subscription ($119.95 per year).

Internet – Press releases, meet results, audio broadcasts and dual livestats are available on the University of Iowa’s website, www.hawkeyesports.com. To access live dual scoring, go to the wrestling schedule page, select the event and click on the Livestats link. Current staff and student-athlete head shots can be found at pics.hawkeyesports.com .

The Hawkeye wrestling staff of Tom Brands, Wes Hand, Doug Schwab and Mike Zadick earned a total of one Olympic gold medal, four NCAA titles, six conference titles and 12 all-America honors. Their combined college career wrestling record is 487-83-2 (.853).

Iowa will open the 2007-08 dual meet season Nov. 24 at the St. Edward Duals in Lakewood, OH. The Hawkeyes will face the University of Findlay at 9 a.m., Iowa Central Community College at 10:30 a.m., Old Dominion University at 1:30 p.m. and North Carolina State University at 3 p.m. All times are central and all matches will be held at the St. Edward High School Gymnasium.

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.