NCAA Brackets Released

March 18, 2008

ST. LOUIS, MO — Eight of Iowa’s nine NCAA qualifiers have earned seeds in the 2008 NCAA Championships based on the brackets released by the NCAA. The three-day tournament starts at 10 a.m. Thursday at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, MO.

Hawkeye sophomore 149-pounder Brent Metcalf is one of five Big Ten wrestlers to earn the top seed at his weight class. Iowa senior Mark Perry is seeded second at 165, while senior Matt Fields (Hwt.) and sophomores Joe Slaton (133) and Jay Borschel (174) are each seeded fourth. Junior Charlie Falck earned the fifth seed at 125, sophomore Phillip Keddy is the seventh seed at 184 and sophomore Dan LeClere is the eighth seed at 141.

Iowa’s first round match-ups are listed below. LeClere is the only one to have faced his first round opponent in past competition. He beat Oklahoma’s Zach Bailey, 5-4, in the 2007 Midlands Championships finals.

125 – #5 Charlie Falck (Iowa) vs. Fernando Martinez (Army)
133 – #4 Joe Slaton (Iowa) vs. Winner of Dan Mitcheff (Kent State)/Jeff Hedges (UNC Greensboro)
141 – #8 Dan LeClere (Iowa) vs. Zach Bailey (Oklahoma)
149 – #1 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) vs. William Rowe (Oklahoma)
157 – Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) vs. #6 Matt Kocher (Pittsburgh)
165 – #2 Mark Perry (Iowa) vs. Marcus Effner (Cleveland State)
174 – #4 Jay Borschel (Iowa) vs. Lloyd Rogers (Tennessee-Chattanooga)
184 – #7 Phillip Keddy (Iowa) vs. Charles Pienaar (Eastern Michigan)
Hwt – #4 Matt Fields (Iowa) vs. Reece Hopkin (Northern Colorado)

Complete NCAA Brackets in PDF Format

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.