Hawkeyes Go 4-0 At Iowa City Duals

Nov. 21, 2008

Photo Gallery

IOWA CITY, IA — The Hawkeye wrestling team opened the 2008-09 season going 4-0 at the Iowa City Duals Friday in Iowa City. Approximately 900 fans packed the University of Iowa Field House North Gym to watch Iowa defeat Iowa Central (52-0), Coe (51-0) and Minnesota State Mankato (45-3) earlier in the day, and a crowd of 4,846 saw the Hawkeyes beat Arizona State (41-0) at Carver-Hawkeye Arena later in the afternoon. Iowa posted a 39-1 record on the day – including 20 pins, two technical falls and three major decisions – and extended its dual match winning streak to 18.

Hawkeye senior Charlie Falck (125), juniors Daniel Dennis (133), Brent Metcalf (149), Ryan Morningstar (165), Jay Borschel (174), Phillip Keddy (184) and Dan Erekson (Hwt.), and redshirt freshman Matt Ballweg (157) each posted 4-0 records on the day. Metcalf pinned all four opponents in a combined total of 9:14, extending his own winning streak to 36 matches. Other individual highlights included three pins each from Borschel and Erekson, Falck’s 2-1 win over eighth-ranked Anthony Robles of Arizona State and Morningstar snapping the 44-match winning streak of Coe’s Tyler Burkle with a 12-3 major decision. Ballweg also made his varsity lineup debut, scoring one pin and both of the team’s technical falls. Senior Alex Tsirtsis (141) and junior Chad Beatty (197) each posted 3-0 records.

The Hawkeyes will send 16 wrestlers to the annual Kaufman-Brand Open Saturday in Omaha, NE. The tournament, which will feature approximately 650 wrestlers from 32 teams, is the nation’s largest single-day collegiate meet. Competition will start at 9 a.m. at the University of Nebraska at Omaha Field House.

Falck, Metcalf, Borschel and Keddy are scheduled to compete at the 43rd annual NWCA All-Star Dual Monday in Columbus, OH. The event, which will be held at Ohio State’s St. John Arena is scheduled to start at 6 p.m. (CT) and will be aired on ESPNU December 4 at 9 p.m. (CT).

Iowa 52, Iowa Central 0
125 Charlie Falck (I) maj. dec. Patrick Hunter (ICCC), 14-5
133 Daniel Dennis (I) dec. Billy Murphy (ICCC), 4-2
141 Alex Tsirtsis (I) pinned Vinny Pisani (ICCC), 0:28
149 Brent Metcalf (I) pinned Tanner Kampen (ICCC), 2:06
157 Matt Ballweg (I) pinned Donnie Bell (ICCC), 1:46
165 Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Bradley Banks (ICCC), 8-3
174 Jay Borschel (I) pinned Samuel Bonsu (ICCC), 2:45
184 Phillip Keddy (I) pinned Joey Davis (ICCC), 1:36
197 Chad Beatty (I) pinned Joe Johnson (ICCC), 4:52
Hwt. Dan Erekson (I) pinned Phil Mandzik (ICCC), 2:07

Help the Hawkeyes set a new NCAA dual meet attendance record. Purchase your Iowa-Iowa State tickets now by clicking HERE
or by calling
1-800 IA-HAWKS.

Coe 26, Minnesota State Mankato 10
125 Josh Eller (C) dec. Andy Frostner (MSUM), 12-5
133 Brandon Ball (C) maj. dec. Brian Reisenaur (MSUM), 16-3
141 Johny Siegel (C) dec. Trim Haneberg (MSUM), 6-0
149 Tommy Abbott (MSUM) dec. Mark Carey (C), 8-5
157 Bryon Grothus (C), dec. Darren Olsen (MSUM), 5-2
165 Tyler Burkle (C) maj. dec. Tel Todd (MSUM), 9-0
174 Tim Matheson (MSUM) maj. dec. Seth Rehn (C), 13-2
184 Aaron Norgren (MSUM) won by forfeit
197 Pat Mahan (MSUM) dec. Rob Kramer (C), 7-3
Hwt. Mitch Sander (C) dec. Tom Block (MSUM), 13-6

Iowa 51, Coe 0
125 Charlie Falck (I) pinned Josh Eller (C), 2:09
133 Daniel Dennis (I) dec. Brandon Ball (C), 7-5
141 Alex Tsirtsis (I) pinned Johny Siegel (C), 2:47
149 Brent Metcalf (I) pinned Mark Carey (C), 1:56
157 Matt Ballweg (I) tech. fall Bryon Grothus (C), 15-0, 3:12
165 Ryan Morningstar (I) maj. dec. Tyler Burkle (C), 12-3
174 Jay Borschel (I) pinned Seth Rehn (C), 1:14
184 Phillip Keddy (I) pinned Greg Lalla (C), 1:44
197 Chad Beatty (I) dec. Rob Kramer (C), 7-1
Hwt. Dan Erekson (I) pinned Mitch Sander (C), 1:11

Minnesota State Mankato 33, Iowa Central 18
125 Andy Frostner (MSUM) dec. Patrick Hunter (ICCC), 5-2
133 Billy Murphy (ICCC) pinned Brian Reisenaur (MSUM), 1:17
141 Travis Elg (MSUM) pinned Elard Coello (ICCC), 0:35
149 Tommy Abbott (MSUM) pinned Tanner Kampen (ICCC), 1:45
157 Darren Olsen (MSUM) pinned Donnie Bell (ICCC), 4:53
165 Bradley Banks (ICCC) dec. Tel Todd (MSUM), 6-3
174 Tim Matheson (MSUM) pinned Samuel Bonsu (ICCC), 3:54
184 Joey Davis (ICCC) won by forfeit
197 Tom Block won by forfeit
Hwt. Pat Mahan (MSUM) dec. Phil Mandzik (ICCC), 5-2

Iowa 45, Minnesota State Mankato 3
125 Charlie Falck (I) pinned Andy Forstner (MSUM), 1:46
133 Daniel Dennis (I) pinned Brian Reisenauer (MSUM), 2:05
141 Dan LeClere (I) dec. Travis Elg (MSUM), 10-4
149 Brent Metcalf (I) pinned Tommy Abbott (MSUM), 1:32
157 Matt Ballweg (I) tech. fall Darren Olsen (MSUM), 17-2 in 5:07
165 Ryan Morningstar (I) maj. dec. Tel Todd (MSUM), 14-3
174 Jay Borschel (I) dec. Tim Matheson (MSUM), 14-9
184 Phillip Keddy (I) won by forfeit
197 Pat Mahan (MSUM) dec. Luke Lofthouse (I), 5-4
Hwt. Dan Erekson (I) pinned Tom Block (MSUM), 0:41

Coe 42, Iowa Central 6
125 Clayton Rush (C) tech. fall Patrick Hunter (ICCC), 23-8
133 Billy Murphy (ICCC) dec. Brandon Ball (C), 10-5
141 Kody Pudil (C) pinned Elard Coella (ICCC), 1:32
149 Tanner Kampen (ICCC) dec. Mark Carey (C), 5-3
157 Bryon Grothus (C) tech. fall Donnie Bell (ICCC), 19-2 in 6:47
165 Tyler Burkle (C) pinned Bradley Banks (ICCC), 2:12
174 Seth Rehn (C) pinned Samuel Bonsu (ICCC), 4:53
184 Greg Lalla (C) tech. fall Joey Davis (ICCC), 16-1
197 Rob Kramer (C) won by forfeit
Hwt. Jared Carder (C) dec. Phil Mandzik (ICCC), 4-1

Iowa 41, Arizona State 0
125 Charlie Falck (I) dec. Anthony Robles (ASU), 2-1
133 Daniel Dennis (I) pinned Tyler Bowles (ASU), 6:29
141 Alex Tsirtsis (I) dec. Chris Drouin (ASU), 3-2
149 Brent Metcalf (I) pinned Vicente Varela (ASU), 3:40
157 Matt Ballweg (I) dec. Jarrad Trulson (ASU), 10-5
165 Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Kyle DeBerry (ASU), 9-2
174 Jay Borschel (I) pinned Eric Starks (ASU), 4:13
184 Phillip Keddy (I) maj. dec. Jake Cranford (ASU), 18-6
197 Chad Beatty (I) maj. dec. Thor Moen (ASU), 16-6
Hwt. Dan Erekson (I) dec. Erik Nye (ASU), 7-6