Hawkeyes Snap Streak

Jan. 18, 2009

STILLWATER, OK — University of Iowa Head Wrestling Coach Tom Brands made his 50th win at Iowa extra sweet with a 20-13 victory at Oklahoma State Sunday afternoon in Stillwater, OK. The win snapped the Cowboys’ nine-match winning streak in the series and was Iowa’s first in Stillwater since 1996. It was also Brands’ first win over Oklahoma State since he took the Hawkeye helm. Iowa improved to 15-0 on the season, picking up their 29th straight win. Oklahoma State fell to 11-4 with the loss.

The Cowboys put the first points on the board at 125 with senior Obenson Blanc’s 6-2 win over Hawkeye redshirt freshman J.J. Krutsinger. Krutsinger was wrestling for injured Hawkeye starter Charlie Falck. Iowa rolled off wins at the next three weights to take an 11-3 lead and never looked back. Iowa junior Daniel Dennis started the streak at 133 with his 3-2 win over junior Chris Notte. Hawkeye senior Alex Tsirtsis posted his 85th career victory and his fifth-straight win at 141 with a 4-1 victory over redshirt freshman Jamal Parks. Tsirtsis also remains undefeated at 13-0 in dual competition. Iowa junior Brent Metcalf posted his 52nd straight win with a 23-6 technical fall in 5:47 over Luke Silver at 149. Metcalf, who scored Iowa’s only team bonus points on the afternoon, is now 20-0 this season.

Oklahoma State won a decision at 157 when sophomore Neil Erisman posted a 4-1 victory over Hawkeye sophomore Matt Ballweg, but three Iowa juniors followed with decisions to seal the team win. At 165, Ryan Morningstar scored nearfall points in the second period to beat Shenandoah, IA, native Brandon Mason, 3-1. Jay Borschel fought off a last second takedown attempt by Cowboy senior Newly McSpadden to post a 3-2 win at 174. Phillip Keddy posted his fifth straight win with a 12-7 decision over sophomore Cody Hill at 184 to remain undefeated (15-0) in dual competition.

The Cowboys won the final two bouts, but it wasn’t enough for the team win. Senior Clayton Foster scored a 9-1 major decision over Hawkeye redshirt freshman Brodie Ambrose, who was wrestling for injured starter Chad Beatty, at 197. Hawkeye heavyweight Dan Erekson put up a fight against top-ranked junior Jared Rosholt in the final match, but lost the bout 9-5.

Up next for the top-ranked Hawkeyes is the 2009 Big Ten season opener. The Hawkeyes (15-0) will hosts #15/13 Wisconsin (6-3) Friday, January 23 at 7 p.m. and #7/15 Illinois (7-0) Sunday, January 25 at 5 p.m. The Big Ten Network will air a live broadcast of the Iowa-Illinois dual, and the match has been designated as a “Be Bold, Wear Gold” event.

Iowa 20, Oklahoma State 13
125 – Obenson Blanc (OSU) dec. J.J. Krutsinger (I), 6-2
133 – Daniel Dennis (I) dec. Chris Notte (OSU), 3-2
141 – Alex Tsirtsis (I) dec. Jamal Parks (OSU), 4-1
149 – Brent Metcalf (I) tech. fall Luke Silver (OSU), 23-6 in 5:47
157 – Neil Erisman (OSU) dec. Matt Ballweg (I), 4-1
165 – Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Brandon Mason (OSU), 3-1
174 – Jay Borschel (I) dec. Newly McSpadden (OSU), 3-2
184 – Phillip Keddy (I) dec. Cody Hill (OSU), 12-7
197 – Clayton Foster (OSU) maj. dec. Brodie Ambrose (I), 9-1
Hwt. – Jared Rosholt (OSU) dec. Dan Erekson (I), 9-5