Nine Hawkeyes Earn Academic Honors

April 3, 2009

IOWA CITY — Nine University of Iowa wrestlers recently earned academic all-Big Ten honors, breaking the previous school record of seven honorees. A total of 46 Hawkeye student-athletes were named to the winter academic all-conference team.

To be eligible for academic all-Big Ten honors, student-athletes must be letterwinners and be in at least their second academic year at the institution. They must also carry a career grade point average of 3.0 or better.

The Hawkeye wrestlers posted a 24-0 overall record en route to the school’s 22nd NCAA title and 33rd Big Ten title. Head Coach Tom Brands was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second straight season, while junior Brent Metcalf earned the Big Ten Championships Outstanding Wrestler honor for the second time after winning his second 149-pound conference title. Metcalf and juniors Daniel Dennis (133), Ryan Morningstar (165), Phillip Keddy (184) and Dan Erekson (Hwt.) earned all-America honors for Iowa. The Hawkeyes will open the 2009-10 dual season on a 38-match winning streak.

Iowa Wrestling Academic All-Big Ten Honorees
Name – Year – Major – Hometown
Jay Borschel – Jr. – Biology – Marion, IA
Nick Kolegraff – Sr. – Statistics/Computer Science – Milford, IA
J.J. Krutsinger – So. – Biology – Evansdale, IA
Dan LeClere – Jr. – Biology – Coggon, IA
T.H. Leet – Sr. – Marketing – Atlanta, GA
Brent Metcalf – Jr. – Sociology – Davison, MI
Joe Moore – So. – Business – Okoboji, IA
Blake Rasing – So. – Pre-Business – New Hampton, IA
Ethan Sebert – So. – Journalism & Mass Communications – Clarion, IA