Brant Named Big Ten Sportsmanship Honoree

May 6, 2009

IOWA CITY – The Big Ten Conference announced its men’s golf all-Conference and Sportsmanship honorees Tuesday. Indiana senior Jorge Campillo was named Conference Player of the Year while Illinois Head Coach Mike Small was recognized as the Coach of the Year.

Iowa’s lone recipient was freshman Chris Brant. After leading the Hawkeyes to a sixth place finish at the Big Ten Championships, Iowa’s best finish in eight years, Brant was selected as one of 11 sportsmanship honorees. Brant has competed in six tournaments for the Hawkeyes during his freshman campaign, with a 75.0 scoring average. His best finish came in the Big Ten Championships where he posted an impressive 294 (+10) to finish tied for 15th.

Brant and the Hawkeyes will continue their season May 14-16, at the Central Florida Regional in Sorrento, FL. This marks the third time in school history Iowa has been selected for NCAA regional play.