Big Ten/Big East Challenge Match-Ups Announced

Sept. 17, 2009

Iowa and the Big Ten NetworkBig Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
24 Hawkeyes to Watch (2009-10 season)


ST. PETERSBURG, FL — The schedule has been finalized and two state-of-the-art major league venues have been added to the 2010 Big Ten/Big East Baseball Challenge, hosted by the St. Petersburg/Clearwater Sports Commission, event manager API Sports announced today.

The Hawkeyes will play Rutgers (Feb. 26), West Virginia (Feb. 27) and Villanova (Feb. 28). Iowa’s contests against West Virginia and Villanova will be its first-ever meeting between the two opponents.

“We’re excited about the Big Ten/Big East Challenge,” Head Coach Jack Dahm said. “We felt like it was a great experience for our players last year and a good opportunity for our club to play against other northern programs. The three teams we will be playing are very good opponents and should be a nice challenge for us at the start of our season.”

Doubleheaders at Dunedin Stadium and Bright House Field highlight a slate that features 30 games over three days, Feb. 26-28, 2010, at current and former big league facilities in the St. Petersburg and Clearwater, FL area.

“After a successful inaugural event, the Big Ten Conference is looking forward to more exciting and competitive games during the 2010 Big Ten/BIG EAST Baseball Challenge,” said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany. “This experience gives our programs the chance to compete in outstanding weather in some of the nation’s finest baseball facilities, and we look forward to another great event in the St. Petersburg/Clearwater area.”

Last year’s Challenge, which featured eight programs from the BIG EAST and all 10 Big Ten baseball-playing institutions, was won by the Big Ten, 15-9. Georgetown, which competed in 2009, will not be back in 2010, allowing newcomers Rutgers, Louisville and Villanova to participate. Rounding out the BIG EAST contingent is Cincinnati, Connecticut, Notre Dame, St. John’s, Seton Hall, South Florida (USF) and West Virginia. Big Ten participants include Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue.

2010 Big Ten/BIG EAST Baseball Challenge MatchupsDay 1 - Friday, February 26Rutgers vs. IowaConnecticut vs. NorthwesternSeton Hall vs. Michigan StateCincinnati vs. Penn StateWest Virginia vs. IndianaVillanova vs. PurdueSt. John's vs. MinnesotaSouth Florida vs. Ohio StateNotre Dame vs. IllinoisLouisville vs. Michigan
Day 2 - Saturday, February 27Villanova vs. IndianaSeton Hall vs. Penn StateNorthwestern vs. RutgersConnecticut vs. MinnesotaPurdue vs. CincinnatiIowa vs. West VirginiaOhio State vs. Notre DameSt. John's vs. MichiganMichigan State vs. LouisvilleSouth Florida vs. Illinois
Day 3 - Sunday, February 28Northwestern vs. Seton HallPurdue vs. RutgersPenn State vs. Notre DameIndiana vs. ConnecticutIllinois vs. St. John'sMichigan State vs. West VirginiaIowa vs. VillanovaMichigan vs. South FloridaMinnesota vs. LouisvilleOhio State vs. Cincinnati


Print Friendly Version