Iowa Football Awards Announced

Dec. 12, 2009

IOWA CITY – Senior linebacker Pat Angerer and junior quarterback Ricky Stanzi have been named co-winners of the 2009 Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Player Award for Iowa’s football team. The announcement came at the team’s annual awards banquet.

The Hawkeyes finished their regular season with a 10-2 overall record, ranked 10th in the final AP and 11th in the USA Today coach’s poll. Iowa finished 10th in the final BCS standings. The Hawkeyes will be playing in a January bowl game for the sixth time in eight years. The Hawkeyes have been invited to the FedEx Orange bowl and will play Georgia Tech on Jan. 5th in Miami. Iowa is bowl eligible for the ninth straight year and finished in the league’s top division for the eighth time in the last nine years. It’s the second time Iowa will play in a BCS bowl.

Angerer, a 6-1, 235-pounder from Bettendorf, IA was easily Iowa’s leading tackler for the second straight year. He totaled 135 tackles (second best was Tyler Sash’s 84) to finish second in Big Ten totals. He was a first team all-Big Ten pick by the coaches and media and was a finalist for the prestigious Bronko Nagurski Defensive Player of the Year Award. Angerer has 248 career tackles to rank 12 on Iowa’s all-time list. All but six of his career tackles came in the last two seasons. He was also on the watch lists for the Butkus, Bednarik and Lott Trophies.

Stanzi, a 6-4, 218-pounder from Mentor, OH, led Iowa to a record breaking nine straight wins to open the season. He suffered a regular season ending ankle injury during Iowa’s loss to Northwestern in the 10th game of the season. He was one of the 15 semi-finalists for the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Year Award. He is 17-4 as Iowa’s starting quarterback. The junior has passed for 2,186 yards and 15 touchdowns this season, before the injury. He’ll be back in the lineup for Iowa’s bowl game in January. Stanzi was an honorable mention all-Big Ten selection.

Angerer shared in numerous other awards given out at the banquet.

He was named co-winner of the Hayden Fry “Extra Heartbeat” Award. Angerer shared the honor with first team all-Big Ten tight end Tony Moeaki, a senior from Wheaton, IL. Moeaki has 72 career receptions for 868 yards and 11 touchdowns. The Hayden Fry Award is given in honor of Iowa’s Hall of Fame coach who retired after the 1998 season. The award goes to a player who gives that little bit extra at all times.

Angerer was also given the “Iron Hawk Award”. It is presented to a Hawkeye who has given his all every play, for the entire season, and has represented his team and school in an exemplary fashion.

Senior offensive lineman Dace Richardson won the “Comeback Player of the Year Award”. Richardson has overcome numerous injuries during his career. He started the first eight games this season before suffering another injury against Michigan State. He hopes to be back in the lineup for Iowa’s January bowl game.

Six players share the “Next Man In Award”. On offense, freshman lineman Riley Reiff and frosh running backs Adam Robinson and Brandon Wegher took the honors. Defensively, the award went to senior safety Joe Conklin while the special teams’ award was shared by juniors Derrell Johnson-Koulianos and Colin Sandeman. All of the winners replaced a starter, who left the lineup with an injury, and continued to deliver excellent performances.

Senior linebacker A.J. Edds was named winner of the “Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award”. The award goes annually to a player(s) who displays a high degree of proficiency in both the classroom and on the playing field. Edds is a three-time member of the academic all-Big Ten team. He is a management major with a 3.17 GPA.

The 2009 “Coaches Appreciation” awards went to six underclassmen. Offensively, the award went to junior offensive lineman Bryan Bulaga and sophomore wide receiver Marvin McNutt. Defensively, the honor went to a pair of sophomores, back Tyler Sash and end Broderick Binns. Sophomore Tyler Nielsen and junior Jeff Tarpinian shared the special teams’ portion of the award.

Junior snapper Andrew Schulze was named winner of the “Reggie Roby Special Teams Specialist of the Year”. Junior punter Ryan Donahue was named winner of the overall “Reggie Roby Special Teams Player of the Year” award. The awards are named after the late Iowa punter who was first-team all-American in 1981 and 1982. Roby died in 2005. He punted in the NFL for 16 years.

The “Hawkeye Hustle” awards went to eight players. On offense, the winners are junior tight end Allen Reisner, junior fullback Brett Morse and senior wide receiver Trey Stross. Juniors Karl Klug, Christian Ballard (both tackles) and end Adrian Clayborn won the defensive Hustle Awards. The special team winners are junior running back Paki O’Meara and sophomore linebacker Bruce Davis.

“Team Leader” Awards were given offensively to junior wide receiver Nick Kuchel and sophomore tight end Zach Furlong. Defensive winners are linemen Joe Forgy, a junior, and Thomas Nardo, a sophomore. Special Teams Leader Awards went to freshmen running back Brad Rogers and tight end Zach Derby.

Stanzi and Moeaki (offense), along with A.J. Edds, Angerer and Clayborn (defense), were named permanent captains for the 2009 season. Angerer, Moeaki and Edds are seniors, the other two are juniors.

The “Win During The Week Award” went to senior center Rafael Eubanks and Stanzi on offense. The defensive award went to Edds and senior back Brett Greenwood. Junior linebacker Troy Johnson won the special teams honor.

The “Player Appreciation Award” went to three Iowa couples, all long-time supporters of the UI. They are Jim and Darlene McCord of Iowa City, Dale and Marilyn Howard of Iowa Falls and Stew and LeNore Hansen of West Des Moines. All three couples have given extremely generous amounts to the Iowa football program.

The Bump Elliott Appreciation Award goes to businessmen Mike Riggan and Ed Huff. Both have worked, in unison, to help transport the Hawkeyes when they go on the road. They have been part of the Iowa football family for almost 30 years.