Wrestlers Lead Midlands Race After First Session

Dec. 29, 2009

EVANSTON, IL — The University of Iowa wrestling squad leads the team race at the 47th annual Midlands Championships after Tuesday’s first session of competition. The Hawkeyes advanced nine wrestlers to Tuesday night’s championship quarterfinals, and still have nine more competing in the consolation bracket. Iowa is in first place in the team standings with 46.5 points. Iowa State is in second place with 42.5 and Missouri is in third with 41.5.

The Hawkeyes went 31-15 during Tuesday’s opening session. Redshirt freshmen Matt McDonough (#3 seed at 125) and Nate Moore (unseeded at 133), and seniors Dan LeClere (#2 seed at 141), Joe Slaton (#4 seed at 141), Brent Metcalf (#1 seed at 149), Ryan Morningstar (#3 seed at 165), Jay Borschel (#1 seed at 174), Phillip Keddy (#3 seed at 184) and Chad Beatty (#5 seed at 197) all advanced to Tuesday night’s championship quarterfinals.

McDonough advanced to 125-pound quarterfinals with two major decisions and a pin to remain undefeated at 12-0 this season. He will face #6 seed Ben Kjar of Utah Valley in the evening session. Moore scored a takedown with two seconds remaining to upset #2 seed Scotti Sentes of Central Michigan in the second round to advance to the 133-pound quarterfinals. Moore will face #7 seed Matt Fish of Lehigh in the quarterfinals.

At 141, LeClere scored a major decision and a decision en route to the quarterfinals, while Slaton, who is wrestling unattached, posted two major decisions on his way to the quarterfinal bout. LeClere will face #7 seed Ryan Prater of Illinois, while Slaton will face #5 seed Tyler Nauman of Pittsburgh in the quarterfinals. Both Hawkeyes won Midlands titles in 2007.

Metcalf scored a technical fall and two pins en route to his quarterfinal appearance at 149. The two-time Midlands champion picked up his 40th career pin in the second round, which ranks 10th all-time at Iowa. He will face unseeded David Cheza of Michigan State in the quarterfinals. Metcalf remains undefeated at 12-0 this season.

Morningstar and Borschel, who are both defending Midlands championships, went 2-0 in the first session to advance. Morningstar will face unseeded Mike Galante of Lehigh in the quarterfinals. Borschel will put his 11-0 season record on the line when he faces #9 seed Robert Hamlin of Lehigh in the quarterfinals.

Keddy picked up his 85th career win with an 18-6 second round major decision. He will face unseeded Nick Palmieri of Michigan State in the quarterfinals. Beatty scored 18 points in both of his major decision victories to advance at 197. He will face unseeded Joe Kennedy of Lehigh in the quarterfinals.

Still competing in the consolation bracket are juniors Jake Kerr (157), Aaron Janssen (157) and Luke Lofthouse (197); sophomores J.J. Krutsinger (125), Montell Marion (141) and Blake Rasing (Hwt.); redshirt freshman Grant Gambrall (184), and true freshmen Derek St. John (157) and Ethen Lofthouse (174).

Tuesday night’s second session of competition is scheduled to start at 7 p.m. Updated team standings and brackets are available throughout the tournament at www.nusports.com. Fans can listen to a live broadcast at www.hawkeyesports.com using the XXL All-Access subscription. KXIC’s Steven Grace and two-time Hawkeye NCAA champion and four-time all-American Mark Ironside will call the action.

Place Team – Points
1. Iowa – 46.5
2. Iowa State – 42.5
3. Missouri – 41.5
4. Central Michigan – 32.5
5. Lehigh – 31.5
6. Pittsburgh – 30.0
7. Oregon State – 28.0
8. Illinois – 27.5
9. Maryland – 26.5
Wisconsin – 26.5

125 Pounds
#3 Matt McDonough (Iowa) maj. dec. Ryan Mango (Stanford), 12-4
#3 Matt McDonough (Iowa) pinned Izzy Montemayor (Northern Illinois), 1:24
#3 Matt McDonough (Iowa) maj. dec. John Deneen (Illinois), 8-0

James Knox (Maryland) dec. J.J. Krutsinger (Iowa), 8-2
J.J. Krutsinger (Iowa) pinned Mark Johnson (Lincoln College), 2:15
J.J. Krutsinger (Iowa) pinned Arsenia Barksdale (Adams State), 4:16

133 Pounds
Nate Moore (Iowa) pinned Vince Vallez (Triton), 0:46
Nate Moore (Iowa) dec. #2 Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan), 2-1

Jeff Newby (Utah Valley) dec. Mark Ballweg (Iowa), 4-3
Nathan McCormick (Missouri) pinned Mark Ballweg (Iowa), 3:51

141 Pounds
#2 Dan LeClere (Iowa) maj. dec. Kyle West (UC Davis-Unattached), 12-3
#2 Dan LeClere (Iowa) dec. Dale Fava (Delaware Valley), 6-3

#4 Joe Slaton (Iowa-Unattached) maj. dec. Matt Bradley (Rider), 12-3
#4 Joe Slaton (Iowa-Unattached) maj. dec. Alec Hoffman (Northern Iowa), 18-5

#9 Montell Marion (Iowa) maj. dec. Austin Bautista (Wisconsin-Whitewater), 12-4
#8 Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra-Unattached) dec. #9 Montell Marion (Iowa), 7-4

149 Pounds
#1 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) tech. fall Justin Morrill (Utah Valley), 22-6
#1 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) pinned Brandon Wiest (Missouri), 3:32
#1 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) pinned Nick Bertucci (Purdue), 1:36

157 Pounds
#10 Jake Kerr (Iowa) dec. Kalvin York (Wisconsin-Unattached), 8-3
Lucas Espericueta (Stanford) pinned #10 Jake Kerr (Iowa), 2:15

Derek St. John (Iowa-Unattached) maj. dec. Carl Breitenstein (Williams), 11-2
#1 Steve Fittery (American) maj. dec. Derek St. John (Iowa-Unattached), 10-0

Aaron Janssen (Iowa) maj. dec. Brantley Hooks (Bucknell), 9-1
Tyson Reiner (Northern Iowa) dec. Aaron Janssen (Iowa), 6-4
Aaron Janssen (Iowa) dec. Anthony Jones (Michigan State), 3-1

Kyle Dooley (Illinois) dec. Matt Ballweg (Iowa), 5-2
Brantley Hooks (Bucknell) dec. Matt Ballweg (Iowa), 5-2

165 Pounds
#3 Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) maj. dec. Ben Boudro (Michigan State), 11-0
#3 Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) dec. Joe Barczak (Illinois), 4-1

174 Pounds
#1 Jay Borschel (Iowa) pinned Bryan Panzano (Harvard), 2:05
#1 Jay Borschel (Iowa) maj. dec. Alex Caruso (Lehigh), 9-0

Jarion Beets (Northern Iowa) dec. Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa-Unattached), 9-5
Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa-Unattached) dec. Dave Sullivan (Pittsburgh), 3-2

184 Pounds
#3 Phillip Keddy (Iowa) dec. Tyson Vinson (Oregon State), 9-4
#3 Phillip Keddy (Iowa) maj. dec. Gabe Youel (North Central), 18-6

Jason McCroskey (Tennessee-Chattanooga) dec. Vinnie Wagner (Iowa), 8-3
Brice Arand (Oregon State) pinned Vinnie Wagner (Iowa), 2:59

Grant Gambrall (Iowa) dec. Derek Skala (St. Cloud), 10-5
#4 Louis Caputo (Harvard) dec. Grant Gambrall (Iowa), 3-2

197 Pounds
#5 Chad Beatty (Iowa) maj. dec. Niko Brown (Tennessee-Chattanooga), 18-5
#5 Chad Beatty (Iowa) maj. dec. Vince Bordi (San Francisco State), 18-7

Luke Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. Jay Hahn (Bucknell), 8-5
#6 Brent Haynes (Missouri) dec. Luke Lofthouse (Iowa), 7-1

David Zabriskie (Iowa State) dec. Blake Rasing (Iowa), 3-2
Blake Rasing (Iowa) maj. dec. Allyn Plattner (Luther), 15-4

Complete Midlands Tournament Brackets After Session One in PDF Format

Complete Midlands Team Standings After Session One in PDF Format