Iowa Wins Third Straight National Duals Title

Jan. 10, 2010

CEDAR FALLS, IA — The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team won its third straight NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals team title Sunday afternoon with a 19-12 win over second-ranked Iowa State in the championships semifinals. The Hawkeyes are only the second school in the tournament’s 22-year history to win three straight team titles. Oklahoma State also won three straight titles from 2003-05. Hawkeye senior 174-pounder Jay Borschel was named Division I Outstanding Wrestler for the tournament.

Iowa improved to 13-0 and extended its dual winning streak to 51 matches, while posting a 28-12 record at the two-day tournament at the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls. The Hawkeyes have won a total of six National Duals titles (1992, 1995, 1996, 2008, 2009, 2010).

The Hawkeyes handed Iowa State (6-2) their second dual loss of the season. Iowa won the earlier season meeting, 18-16, on Dec. 6 in Ames. Both teams won five matches in that dual, but Iowa scored the win with two extra team bonus points. In Sunday’s National Duals finals, Iowa won six matches and did not allow Iowa State to score any extra team bonus points.

“We came out slugging in that fight,” said Hawkeye Head Coach Tom Brands. “We got knocked down a couple of times, but we got back up a lot. Was that our best lineup out there? It doesn’t matter because we believe in our guys. Our depth is deep and we are progressing.”

Hawkeye redshirt freshman Matt McDonough kicked off the dual at 125 with a thrilling 9-8 victory over Iowa State redshirt freshman Andrew Long. Long, who is ranked fifth in the nation, scored the first takedown of the match, but McDonough responded with an escape and a takedown with four seconds left in the period to take a 3-2 lead. McDonough, who is ranked fourth in the nation, chose the down position to start the second period, but fell behind 5-3 when Long scored three nearfall points. McDonough scored a reversal to tie the score at 5-5, but Long escaped to take a 6-5. McDonough scored his second takedown of the match to take a 7-6 lead into the third period. Long escaped to tie the score at 7-7, but McDonough scored a takedown off a scramble to take a 9-7 lead. Long recorded an escape, but McDonough came away with the win. It is the third time this season the two have met, with McDonough winning all three decisions. He is undefeated at 19-0 this season.

Iowa State’s Nick Fanthorpe tied the team score at 3-3 with his 8-3 decision over Iowa redshirt freshman Nate Moore at 133. Moore, who is wrestling for injured starter Daniel Dennis, scored three escapes in the dual, but could not get his offense going against the eighth-ranked Cyclone senior.

Iowa responded with a five-match winning streak that sealed the team victory and tournament title. Hawkeye senior Dan LeClere got things going at 141 with his 7-2 decision over Cyclone sophomore Dalton Jensen, who was wrestling for injured starter and second-ranked Nick Gallick. LeClere scored two takedowns in the bout and rode Jensen the entire third period for his ninth collegiate win of the season.

Hawkeye senior 149-pounder Brent Metcalf won his fourth career victory against Cyclone senior and Iowa City native Mitch Mueller, scoring a 7-3 decision. With the score tied at 2-2 after the first two periods, the top-ranked Hawkeye recorded two third-period takedowns to remain undefeated at 19-0 this season.

Iowa junior Aaron Janssen picked up his 20th career victory with a 3-1 win in sudden victory over Cyclone sophomore Andrew Sorenson. Both wrestlers scored escapes in regulation, and Janssen scored the takedown with 15 seconds left in sudden victory to record the win for Iowa.

At 165, Hawkeye senior Ryan Morningstar posted his 95th career victory and avenged two earlier season losses to #3 Cyclone junior Jon Reader, with a 5-4 decision. Morningstar, who is ranked fifth in the nation, trailed 4-2 at the start of the third period. He recorded a quick escape and then a late takedown for the victory. Morningstar now has a 4-2 career record against Reader, and is 15-2 this season.

Borschel scored the only team bonus points of the dual with his 10-2 major decision over Iowa State senior Duke Burk at 174. Leading 3-0 after the second period, Borschel turned on the offense scoring three takedowns and a riding time point for the win. The Hawkeye senior, who is ranked first in the nation, remains undefeated at 18-0 this season, and has a 5-0 career record against Burk.

Iowa State won the last three bouts to end the dual. At 184, Cyclone sophomore Jerome Ward scored a takedown in sudden victory to beat Hawkeye senior Phillip Keddy for the second time this season. Keddy was in on a takedown as time expired in regulation, but did not score before the buzzer sounded. Top-ranked Cyclone senior Jake Varner scored a 7-1 decision over Hawkeye junior Luke Lofthouse at 197, and fifth-ranked Iowa State senior David Zabriskie recorded a 4-1 win over Iowa sophomore Jordan Johnson at heavyweight to end the dual.

The Hawkeyes return to Iowa City to host #4 Oklahoma State (8-0-1) Saturday at 7 p.m. at Carver-Hawkeye Arena. It is a “Be Bold, Wear Gold” event, where fans are encouraged to wear gold attire to the meet. Tickets purchased in advance at the UI Athletic Ticket Office (1-800-464-2957, 319-335-9327 or are $13 for adults, $7 for youth and $2 for children ages 5 and younger. Tickets purchased at the meet are $15 for adults, $8 for youth and $2 for children ages 5 and younger. Iowa will also hold its annual youth clinic Saturday from 5-6 p.m. in Carver-Hawkeye Arena prior to the dual. Youth ages 7-13 are invited to participate in the free clinic, which will be conducted by members of the Hawkeye wrestling coaching staff.

#1 Iowa 19, #2 Iowa State 12
125 – Matt McDonough (Iowa) dec. Andrew Long (Iowa State), 9-8
133 – Nick Fanthorpe (Iowa State) dec. Nate Moore (Iowa), 8-3
141 – Dan LeClere (Iowa) dec. Dalton Jensen (Iowa State), 7-2
149 – Brent Metcalf (Iowa) dec. Mitch Mueller (Iowa State), 7-3
157 – Aaron Janssen (Iowa) dec. Andrew Sorenson (Iowa State), 3-1 SV
165 – Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) dec. Jon Reader (Iowa State), 5-4
174 – Jay Borschel (Iowa) maj. dec. Duke Burk (Iowa State), 10-2
184 – Jerome Ward (Iowa State) dec. Phillip Keddy (Iowa), 7-5 SV
197 – Jake Varner (Iowa State) dec. Luke Lofthouse (Iowa), 7-1
Hwt. – David Zabriskie (Iowa State) dec. Jordan Johnson (Iowa), 4-1