Hawkeyes Shut Out Michigan, 36-0

Jan. 22, 2010

ANN ARBOR, MI — The top-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team recorded its fifth shut-out of the 2009-10 season Friday night, blanking Michigan 36-0 at Cliff Keen Arena in Ann Arbor, MI. Iowa (15-0, 1-0 Big Ten) extended its school-record winning streaks of 53 overall duals and 37 road duals with the win. Michigan falls to 4-8 (0-1 Big Ten) with the loss. Iowa scored team bonus points in five of the 10 bouts, and only allowed three Michigan takedowns in the Big Ten dual season opener.

Hawkeye redshirt freshman Matt McDonough kicked the dual off at 125 with a 14-3 major decision over Michigan freshman Sean Boyle. McDonough, who improved to 21-0 with the win, dominated the match to record his eighth major decision and his 16th team bonus point win of the season. The Marion, IA, native scored eight third-period points and totaled 4:14 of riding time in the match.

Iowa senior Daniel Dennis improved to 9-1 on the season with a 2-0 win over Wolverine sophomore Zac Stevens at 133. After a scoreless first period, Dennis rode Stevens the entire second period and scored a third-period escape for the win.

Hawkeye sophomore Montell Marion scored Iowa’s second major decision of the night with his 19-6 victory over Michigan sophomore Mark Weber at 141. Marion controlled the bout, scoring four takedowns in the first period and three in the second, and accumulating 3:23 of riding time. He is now 13-2 this season, going 5-1 in dual matches.

Top-ranked Hawkeye senior Brent Metcalf took a commanding 18-5 first-period lead in his 149-pound match with Wolverine redshirt freshman Mark Boyer, winning the bout by a 22-7 match-ending technical fall in 6:47. It was the second straight match-ending technical fall win for the Davison, MI, native, and his 18th team bonus point win of the season. He is undefeated a 21-0.

Hawkeye junior Aaron Janssen took Iowa into the intermission with a 12-4 major decision at 157 over Michigan sophomore Dave Johnson. Janssen, who recorded his third major decision of the season with the win, turned on his offense in the third period, scoring three takedowns, one escape and a point for 3:36 of riding time.

At 165, Iowa senior Ryan Morningstar scored a takedown in sudden victory to beat Michigan junior Aaron Hynes, 6-4. Morningstar scored the bout’s first takedown, but Hynes responded with two escapes and Michigan’s second takedown of the dual to take a 4-2 lead in the second period. Morningstar escaped in both the second and third period to force the match into overtime. The Lisbon, IA, native improved to 16-3 with the win, while collecting his 16th career overtime victory.

Top-ranked Hawkeye senior Jay Borschel improved to 20-0 with a 6-0 win over Michigan sophomore Justin Zeerip at 174. After a scoreless first period, Borschel scored an escape and a penalty point in the second to take a 2-0 lead. Borschel added three penalty points in the third period due to stall warnings on Zeerip, and accumulated 1:05 in riding time for the 6-0 win. At 184, Hawkeye senior Phillip Keddy scored a takedown in each of the first two periods, and two in the third to post a 10-2 major decision over Wolverine sophomore Erich Smith. Keddy is now 15-5 this season, going 11-3 in dual competition.

Michigan’s best chance at a win came at 197 pounds when ninth-ranked junior Anthony Biondo faced unranked Iowa junior Luke Lofthouse, who is wrestling for injured Hawkeye starter Chad Beatty. But somebody forgot to mention that to Lofthouse. With the scored tied at 3-3 going into the third period, Lofthouse grabbed three takedowns for the 9-6 upset.

Hawkeye sophomore Blake Rasing preserved the shut out with his 6-1 victory over Michigan redshirt freshman Ben Apland at heavyweight. Rasing scored points in each period to record his first dual win of the season. The Hawkeyes (15-0, 1-0 Big Ten) will conclude this weekend’s Big Ten road trip Sunday afternoon when they face #25 Purdue (10-4, 1-0 Big Ten) at 1 p.m. (CT) at the Lowell High School Gymnasium in Lowell, IN.

#1 Iowa 36, Michigan 0
125 – Matt McDonough (Iowa) maj. dec. Sean Boyle (Michigan), 14-3
133 – Daniel Dennis (Iowa) dec. Zac Stevens (Michigan), 2-0
141 – Montell Marion (Iowa) maj. dec. Mark Weber (Michigan), 19-6
149 – Brent Metcalf (Iowa) tech. fall Mark Boyer (Michigan), 22-7 in 6:47
157 – Aaron Janssen (Iowa) maj. dec. Dave Johnson (Michigan), 12-4
165 – Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) dec. Aaron Hynes (Michigan), 6-4 SV
174 – Jay Borschel (Iowa) dec. Justin Zeerip (Michigan), 6-0
184 – Phillip Keddy (Iowa) maj. dec. Erich Smith (Michigan), 10-2
197 – Luke Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. Anthony Biondo (Michigan), 9-6
Hwt. – Blake Rasing (Iowa) dec. Ben Apland (Michigan), 6-1