NCAA Selection Show Set For Wednesday

March 8, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, IN — The NCAA will announce the 330 student-athletes set participate in the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships via a web stream selection show on Wednesday at 5 p.m. (CT).

NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee chair, Brad Traviolia, will provide the show’s introduction while Pat Tocci, Director of Administration and Public Relations for the National Wrestling Coaches Association, will serve as the host as he unveils each of the 10 brackets in the championships field.

Fans wishing to view the show can do so at the following link: Complete printable brackets will be available on at 6 p.m. (CT) Wednesday.

The NCAA and Takedown Wrestling Media will follow the bracket release with the first-ever wrestling NCAA Championship Preview Special from 7-10 p.m. (CT) from the Takedown Wrestling Media radio studios in Des Moines, IA. A panel discussion between distinguished members of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum and wrestling community will take place during the show. Wrestling media and fans alike will also have the opportunity to call in to the live show and voice their opinions on the selections, or ask questions to the panel for further discussion. Online listeners can go to to watch a live web stream of the NCAA Wrestling Championship Preview Show. Questions can be sent to or call-ins to the show can be made directly at 866/333-5966 or 515/284-5966. A component of the online web stream will be a chat room for the fans and media to post comments and discuss all things wrestling with each other, ask questions or just listen in as Britt Malinsky facilitates the chats.

The University of Iowa wrestling team automatically qualified its entire 10-man lineup at the 2010 Big Ten Championships Sunday in Ann Arbor, MI. It was the first time since 2004, and the 18th time in school history that the Hawkeyes will be sending all 10 competitors to the national meet.

The 2010 NCAA Championships will be held March 18-20, at the Qwest Center in Omaha, NE. The Hawkeyes have won 22 NCAA team titles, including the last two.