NCAA Wrestling Brackets Released

March 10, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, IN — The NCAA released brackets for the upcoming Division I Wrestling Championships Wednesday evening, announcing that nine of Iowa’s 10 national qualifiers earned tournament seeds. The top-ranked Hawkeyes will compete for the school’s 23rd NCAA team title March 18-20 at the Qwest Center in Omaha, NE.

Seniors Daniel Dennis (133), Brent Metcalf (149) and Jay Borschel (174) are each seeded second at their respective weight classes, while redshirt freshman Matt McDonough is seeded third at 125. Hawkeye senior Dan Erekson (Hwt.) is seeded fifth, sophomore Montell Marion (141) is seeded sixth and seniors Phillip Keddy (184) and Chad Beatty (197) are each seeded ninth. Iowa’s 10 NCAA qualifiers have combined for one national title, eight all-America honors and 24 NCAA appearances. McDonough, Marion and Kerr will be competing at their first NCAA tournament.

Iowa enters the tournament as the two-time defending team champion. The Hawkeyes have put together a series of title streaks, placing first nine straight times from 1978-86, six times from 1995-2000, three times from 1991-93 and two times twice (1975-76, 2008-09).

Hawkeye fans can follow competition at the NCAA tournament via radio, internet and television broadcasts. Steven Grace and two-time Hawkeye NCAA champion and four-time all-American Mark Ironside will call the action live on AM-800, KXIC and Web audio broadcasts are available using the XXL All-Access subscription ($14.95 per month or $119.95 per year). NCAA Sessions III, IV and V will be aired live on ESPNU HD, and the championship finals will be aired live on ESPN HD. Matches from Sessions I and II will be broadcast on, and wrestling from sessions III and VI will be available on

IOWA’S FIRST ROUND NCAA MATCH-UPS (Numbers indicate tournament seeds)
125 – #3 Matt McDonough (Iowa) vs. winner of Eric Morrill (Edinboro)/Jason Lara (Oregon State)
133 – #2 Daniel Dennis (Iowa) vs. Kevin Smith (Buffalo)
141 – #6 Montell Marion (Iowa) vs. Cole VonOhlen (Air Force)
149 – #2 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) vs. Trenton Washington (Northern Iowa)
157 – Jake Kerr (Iowa) vs. Tejovan Edwards (Arizona State)
165 – #7 Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) vs. Donald Jones (West Virginia)
174 – #2 Jay Borschel (Iowa) vs. Scott Giffin (Pennsylvania)
184 – #9 Phillip Keddy (Iowa) vs. Michael Salopek (Virginia)
197 – #9 Chad Beatty (Iowa) vs. Alan Gelogaev (Oklahoma State)
Hwt. – #5 Dan Erekson (Iowa) vs. Clayton Jack (Oregon State)

2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships Brackets in PDF Format

Complete List of 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Qualifiers in PDF Format