Hawkeyes Finish Second At Big Ten Championships

May 2, 2010

MAPLE PLAINS, MN – The University of Iowa men’s golf team fired a final round of 282 (-2) to take second at the Big Ten Championships Sunday. Every Hawkeye student-athlete finished in the top-25 individually as they posted a tournament total of 1160 (+24), the third-lowest 72-hole score in program history. Illinois, who won the title with a score of 1157 (+21), was 16 strokes ahead of Iowa to begin the final round before the Hawkeyes surged back with Sunday’s only round under par, but fell just three strokes shy.

“Just an amazing day today,” said Head Coach Mark Hankins. “We talked all week about not losing our focus in the middle of the tournament, trying to stick to our game plan for four rounds. It turned out that going about our business was what we needed to do. At the end of the day, we almost got there, we almost caught up.”

Barrett Kelpin posted a final round of one-over par 72 as he led the Hawkeyes to their best Big Ten finish since winning the tournament in 1992. The sophomore carded a total score of even par 284 to place third. His 72-hole score marks the second lowest in program history while his third place finish ranks as the best individual finish since Bo Anderson placed third in 2001. Additionally, Kelpin was selected as one of five student-athletes to represent the all-tournament team.

“I’m glad to help our team out and I’m proud of our team for playing well today,” said Kelpin. “This will be a great way to start the post-season for us. We played the back nine really well and it feels good to finish second, because we fought so hard to come back. Our team feels good about how we played today, we just came up a little bit short.”

Brad George put together his best tournament of the year as he finished tied for 13th. The sophomore carded three birdies and an eagle on the 18th hole to post a (-1) 70, which brought his four round total to 293 (+9). Sophomore Chris Brant led the Black and Gold in day three with an 18-hole score of 69 (-2). The Edwardsville, IL, native finished the tournament with a score of 294 (+10) to tie for 16th.

“I started off rough, with bogeys on two of the first three holes,” noted Brant. “I stayed patient and thought I could turn it around if I kept putting myself in good position, and that happened. I birdied nine, to get back to one over, and then played solid for a few holes. I had a nice par save on 14 and then birdied three of the last four coming in.”

Vince India posted a final round of 75 (+4) as the junior finished tied for 22nd with a four-round total of 296 (+12). Rounding out the Hawkeyes was Brad Hopfinger who carded a final score of 297 (+13). The junior fired a final round at even par 71 and finished tied for 24th.

“With regards to NCAA Regionals, this finish ensures that we will be in the post-season,” added Hankins. “We have no preference of regional sites since we can’t control that. When we find out on Monday night, we will create a plan and work hard to be ready for that challenge.”

NCAA Regional competition will be contested at six different sites May 20-22. Regional selections take place Monday evening and will be posted immediately. All-Big Ten selections will take place Tuesday, May 4.

Final Results in PDF Format

Team Results
1. Illinois 281-281-300-295=1157 (+21)
2. IOWA 288-286-304-282=1160 (+24)
3. Northwestern 292-286-301-284=1163 (+27)
4. Michigan 286-294-294-299=1173 (+37)
5. Purdue 293-284-306-294=1177 (+41)
6. Indiana 289-290-306-300=1185 (+49)
7. Michigan State 298-291-310-290=1189 (+53)
8. Minnesota 301-289-305-295=1190 (+54)
9. Ohio State 293-292-308-299=1192 (+56)
10. Penn State 296-294-307-307=1204 (+68)
11. Wisconsin 298-300-314-297=1209 (+73)

Individual Results – Par 71 (Top 3 + Iowa)
1. David Lipsky (NW) 67-72-71-71=281 (-3)
2. Matt Thompson (Mich.) 73-69-68-73=283 (-1)
3. Barrett Kelpin (UI) 69-69-74-72=284 (E)
T13. Brad George (UI) 73-73-77-70=293 (+9)
T16. Chris Brant (UI) 76-71-78-69=294 (+10)
T22. Vince India (UI) 73-73-75-75=296 (+12)
T24. Brad Hopfinger (UI) 73-73-80-71=297 (+13)

All-Tournament Team
David Lipsky (Northwestern)
Matt Thompson (Michigan)
Barrett Kelpin (IOWA)
Luke Guthrie (Illinois)
Jack Schultz (Michigan)