Big Ten Medal Of Honor Award Winners Announced

May 7, 2010

IOWA CITY – Seniors Tricia Dean and Brent Metcalf have been named Iowa’s winners of the 2010 Big Ten Medal of Honor. The Big Ten Medal of Honor is awarded annually at each Big Ten institution to a senior male and female student-athlete who has demonstrated a high degree of proficiency in scholarship and athletics.

Dean, who hails from Bear, DE, started 83 of 84 career games for Iowa’s field hockey squad. The midfielder was a four-time recipient of the NFHCA National Academic Award and a two-time academic all-Big Ten honoree. In 2008, she was named to ESPN The Magazine’s Academic all-District team and was named to the Big Ten all-tournament team. As a senior, she led the Hawkeyes in points (28) and assists (10).

Metcalf, a two-time NCAA and Big Ten champion, is from Davison, MI. A three-time all-American, Metcalf posted a 108-3 career record at Iowa, which gives him a .972 career winning percentage that ranks second in school history. He is the first wrestler in Big Ten history to earn Outstanding Wrestler at the conference meet two straight years (2008, 2009).

In 2008, he won the Dan Hodge Trophy, which is annually presented to the nation’s top wrestler, the Jesse Owens Big Ten Male Athlete of the Year Award and was named Outstanding Wrestler at the NCAA Championships. He is a three-time academic all-Big Ten honoree and NWCA all-academic team member.