Borschel, Dean Named Iowa Athletes Of The Year

May 18, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA — Senior wrestler Jay Borschel and senior field hockey standout Tricia Dean have been named the University of Iowa’s nominees for 2010 Big Ten male and female Athletes of the Year. Both will be, respectively, vying for the Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Big Ten Athlete of the Year Awards. Winners will be announced in late June, following a vote by a panel of Big Ten media voters.

Jay Borschel won his first NCAA and Big Ten titles at 174 pounds in March, capping off a perfect 37-0 season. A two-time all-American and three-time NCAA qualifier, the Marion, IA, native posted a 98-10 career record at Iowa. He finished third nationally as a sophomore. He finished third in the Big Ten twice before winning the 2010 title. He is a three-time academic all-Big Ten honoree and a two-time NWCA all-academic team member.

“Jay has worked so hard over the last five years”, said Head Wrestling Coach Tom Brands. “He transferred from Virginia Tech when I took the Iowa job, so his journey hasn’t been without a few potholes. He’s one of those student-athletes who will succeed in life, in whatever direction he goes.”

Senior Tricia Dean

Dean, who hails from Bear, DE, started 83 of 84 career games. The midfielder was a four-time recipient of the NFHCA National Academic Award and a two-time academic all-Big Ten honoree. In 2008, she was named to ESPN The Magazine’s Academic all-District team and was named to the Big Ten all-tournament team. As a senior, she led the Hawkeyes in points (28) and assists (10).

“Tricia is an exemplary student-athlete,” said Head Field Hockey Coach Tracey Griesbaum. “She has taken her role, on and off the field, very seriously. Her team leadership has been outstanding. I am very proud of her accomplishments.”

Big Ten Directors of Athletics approved a recommendation of the sports information directors to establish a Big Ten Athlete of the Year. It was named for Jesse Owens beginning in 1982. In 1983, the AD’s approved a separate athlete of the year award for women’s athletics. In 1991-92, the women’s award was officially named the Big Ten Suzy Favor Athlete of the Year Award.

Seven wrestling and eight field hockey student-athletes have been named Hawkeye finalists. The Hawkeyes have produced four Jesse Owens Award winners and three have been wrestlers (Ed Banach – 1983, Barry Davis – 1985, Brent Metcalf – 2008). Field hockey standout Kristy Gleason claimed Iowa’s only Suzy Favor Award, winning in 1994.

“We have a number of outstanding student-athletes at the University of Iowa and, obviously, these are two of the best,” said Iowa Athletics Director Gary Barta. “They have both done an outstanding job representing themselves, their team and the University of Iowa.”