McIlravy's Hall of Fame Induction This Weekend

June 3, 2010

STILLWATER, OK — Former University of Iowa wrestler and assistant coach Lincoln McIlravy will be inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Member this weekend. The ceremony will take place Friday and Saturday at the Honors Weekend Banquet and Induction Ceremony in Stillwater, OK.

Joining McIlravy as inductees are 2000 Olympic gold medalist Rulon Gardner, two-time NCAA champion David Auble and Russell Camilleri. Other individuals to be honored are Chief Chad Smith of Tahlequah, OK (Outstanding American), Dr. Bernard Feldman of Palos Park, IL (Order of Merit), Rick Yarosh of Windsor, NY (Medal of Courage), and Jim Ramirez of Arkansas City, KS (Lifetime Achievement for Officials). The 2010 inductees and award winners were selected by the Hall of Fame’s Board of Governors.

McIlravy was a three-time NCAA champion (1993-94-97) and four-time all-American (1993-94-95-97) at Iowa, helping the team to three NCAA and four Big Ten titles. The Outstanding Wrestler of the 1997 NCAA Championships, McIlravy earned the bronze medal at the 2000 Olympic Games. He was a four-time U.S. National Freestyle champion (1997-2000), winning a bronze medal at the 1998 World Championships, a silver medal at the 1999 World Championships and a gold medal at the 1999 Pan American Games. In addition, he was a three-time World Cup champion (1998-2000). McIlravy coached at the University of Iowa as an assistant from 1997-2000 and moved on to become a USA Wrestling Resident Coach from 2001-02.

McIlravy is one of 13 former Hawkeye wrestlers, or coaches, who have been inducted as Distinguished Members. Former Hawkeye Major General Kenneth C. Leuer was honored as an Outstanding American in 2002, and former Hawkeye wrestler and assistant coach Chuck Yagla earned the Lifetime Achievement for Officials award in 2009.

The event will mark the 34th anniversary class of the Hall of Fame & Museum. Fans can purchase tickets or make a donation for Honors Weekend at

Former Hawkeyes Inducted Into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame As Distinguished Members
1976 – Dave McCuskey
1977 – Terry McCann
1980 – Dan Gable
1993 – Ed Banach
1994 – Lou Banach
1998 – Randy Lewis
2000 – Gary Kurdelmeier
2001 – Tom Brands
2004 – Jim Zalesky
2005 – Chris Campbell
2006 – Terry Brands
2007 – Barry Davis
2010 – Lincoln McIlravy

Former Hawkeye Who Was Presented the Lifetime Achievement for Officials Award from the National Wrestling Hall of Fame
2009 – Chuck Yagla

Former Hawkeye Who Was Inducted Into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame As Outstanding Americans
2002 – Major General Kenneth C. Leuer