Eight Hawkeyes Win William Penn Open Titles

Jan. 8, 2011

PARDON OUR PROGRESS! As friends of the UI and fans of the Hawkeyes know, the UI Athletics Department is well into a multi-million dollar revitalization of Carver-Hawkeye Arena. This important and exciting project has reduced for this season the number of ticket windows that are operational on game nights. Fans attending the home events of the 2010-11 UI men’s basketball, women’s basketball and wrestling teams are invited to avoid game night delays by purchasing their event tickets online or in advance of game day. If your schedule doesn’t allow for an advance purchase, we recommend you consider arriving at the Arena a little earlier than originally planned. Go Hawks!

OSKALOOSA, Iowa — Eight University of Iowa wrestlers won titles at Saturday’s William Penn Open in Oskaloosa, IA. All 15 Hawkeyes who competed in the tournament were wrestling unattached.

Winning titles for Iowa were senior Jake Kerr (165), juniors J.J. Krutsinger (133) and Vinnie Wagner (184), and freshmen Matt Gurule (125), Jake Ballweg (149), Michael Kelly (157), Mike Evans (174) and Bobby Telford (Hwt.). Also placing for the Hawkeyes were freshmen Charlie Joseph (2nd-141), Nick Moore (2nd-165), Walt Gillmor (3rd-165), Jeremy Fahler (184-4th) and Ethan Owens (6th-149), and redshirt freshmen Tomas Lira (2nd-184) and Joe DuCharme (4th-165).

Up next for No. 7 Iowa (8-0, 1-0 Big Ten) is a Jan. 16 dual at No. 2 Oklahoma State (5-0, 1-0 Big 12). The dual, which is set for 2 p.m. at Gallagher-Iba Arena in Stillwater, OK, will be aired on a same-day taped-delay broadcast on ESPNU at 4:30 p.m.

Complete Tournament Brackets in PDF Format