Hawkeyes Win Big Ten Regular Season Title With 19-12 Victory at Minnesota

Feb. 20, 2011

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. — The second-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team won its fourth-straight Big Ten regular season title with a 19-12 victory over No. 5 Minnesota (15-4-1, 6-1-1 Big Ten) Sunday afternoon at Williams Arena in Minneapolis, Minn. The Hawkeyes closed out the 2010-11 dual meet season going 15-0-1 and posting their fourth-straight 8-0 record in Big Ten dual competition, while extending their unbeaten streak to 77 duals. Today’s dual will be aired at 8:30 p.m. (CT) tonight on the Big Ten Network.

Iowa jumped out to a 9-0 lead with wins from sophomore Matt McDonough (125), redshirt freshman Tony Ramos (133) and junior Montell Marion (141). McDonough, who is ranked first or second in the nation, scored three third-period takedowns to beat No. 5 Zach Sanders, 10-3. The win was McDonough’s ninth straight, giving him a 20-1 season mark and perfect records in duals (16-0) and Big Ten duals (8-0). The loss was only the third for Sanders this season. Ramos collected his 10th straight win with a 7-3 decision over Minnesota redshirt freshman David Thorn at 133. The Hawkeye redshirt freshman scored a takedown in each period and added a third-period escape to remain undefeated in dual competition (12-0) and Big Ten duals (8-0), while posting an 18-3 season record. Marion, who is ranked between third and fifth in the nation, scored an escape as time expired to beat No. 2/4 Mike Thorn, 4-3. After a scoreless first period, Marion jumped out to a 3-0 lead in the second on an escape and a takedown. Thorn tied the score at 3-3 in the third period, but Marion escaped to improve to 7-1 and hand the Minnesota junior his third loss of the season.

The Golden Gophers put their first team points on the board when junior Danny Zilverberg scored a takedown in sudden victory to beat Hawkeye sophomore Mark Ballweg, 5-3, at 149. Hawkeye redshirt freshman Derek St. John responded at 157 with a 20-8 major decision over Matt Mincey, giving the Hawkeyes a 13-3 lead. St. John dominated the match, scoring eight takedowns and giving the Hawkeyes an important bonus-point victory.

Minnesota came out of the intermission with three straight wins at 165, 174 and 184 to pull within one (13-12). Golden Gopher sophomore Cody Yohn scored three nearfall points in the second period and held off a late charge by Hawkeye senior Aaron Janssen to post a 6-4 win at 165. Iowa redshirt freshman Ethen Lofthouse had a 3-0 lead with riding time in the third period in his 174-pound bout with Minnesota senior Scott Glasser, but Glasser scored two takedowns and two nearfall points for the 7-5 win. Golden Gopher redshirt freshman Kevin Steinhaus followed at 184, scoring two third-period takedowns to beat Hawkeye sophomore Grant Gambrall, 5-4, and hand Gambrall his first Big Ten dual loss of the season.

Iowa senior Luke Lofthouse gave the Hawkeyes some breathing room with his 7-4 win over Minnesota junior Sonny Yohn at 197. Lofthouse, who is ranked eighth or ninth in the nation with a perfect 7-0 Big Ten dual record, scored five points in the third period to give Iowa a 16-12 lead. Yohn, who is ranked between fourth and seventh, was wrestling in his second Big Ten dual of the season after missing the majority of the conference schedule due to injury.

Hawkeye junior heavyweight Blake Rasing ended Iowa’s dual meet season on a positive note, knocking off eighth-ranked Tony Nelson, 4-2. Rasing, who is ranked between 15th and 18th, scored an escape to tie the dual at 1-1 early in the third period. He then followed with a takedown and a riding time point for the win.

Up next for Iowa is a trip to the 2011 Big Ten Championships. The event will be held March 5-6 at Northwestern University’s Welsh-Ryan Arena in Evanston, Ill. Tickets are available from the Northwestern University ticket office at 888-GO-PURPLE. Iowa has won 34 conference team titles, including the last three.

No. 2 Iowa 19, No. 5 Minnesota 12
125 – Matt McDonough (Iowa) dec. Zach Sanders (Minnesota), 10-3
133 – Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. David Thorn (Minnesota), 7-3
141 – Montell Marion (Iowa) dec. Mike Thorn (Minnesota), 4-3
149 – Danny Zilverberg (Minnesota) dec. Mark Ballweg (Iowa), 5-3 SV
157 – Derek St. John (Iowa) maj. dec. Matt Mincey (Minnesota), 20-8
165 – Cody Yohn (Minnesota) dec. Aaron Janssen (Iowa), 6-4
174 – Scott Glasser (Minnesota) dec. Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa), 7-5
184 – Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota) dec. Grant Gambrall (Iowa), 5-4
197 – Luke Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. Sonny Yohn (Minnesota), 7-4
Hwt. – Blake Rasing (Iowa) dec. Tony Nelson (Minnesota), 4-2