Hawkeyes Sit in 3rd Entering Finals

March 19, 2011

Session V Photo Gallery

PHILADELPHIA — The Hawkeyes sit in third place heading into the finals of the NCAA Wrestling Championships at the Wells Fargo Center. Penn State leads the team race with 103.5 points. Cornell sits in third with 89.5, three points ahead of Iowa (86.5). The Hawkeyes earned one third-place finish, two fourth-place finishes and one fifth-place finish in today’s consolation round.

Sophomore Grant Gambrall (184) earned a third-place finish with a 6-3 decision over Cornell’s Steve Bosak in the consolation finals. Gambrall trailed 2-1 after one period before scoring a takedown and two back points to take control of the match in the second frame. He rode Bosak out in the third period and scored a stalling point for the final 6-3 margin.

Junior Montell Marion (141) used a 7-3 decision over Missouri’s Todd Schavrien to advance into the consolation finals. He ended the tournament with a fourth-place finish after Minnesota’s Michael Thorn was awarded a takedown in the closing seconds of the third-place match. Thorn appeared to jump the whistle on a restart with nine seconds remaining, but nothing was called and Thorn finished a single-leg takedown to steal the 4-3 win.

Redshirt freshman Derek St. John (157) advanced to the third-place match with a 5-1 decision in the round of eight over Northwestern’s Jason Welch. The redshirt freshman finished fourth overall following a 13-0 loss to American’s Steve Fittery in the consolation finals.

Senior Luke Lofthouse (197) dropped a 4-0 decision in the round of eight before responding with a 6-3 win in the fifth-place match. Lofthouse opened the third period with an escape to break a 3-3 tie and added a late takedown to secure the win and fifth-place finish.

The NCAA Championship finals conclude tonight beginning at 6:30 CT. Iowa’s No. 2 Matt McDonough will defend his 125-pound NCAA Championship against Arizona State’s top-seeded Anthony Robles. Tonight’s finals will be aired live on ESPN HD. Fans can also follow the championships on AM-800 KXIC and hawkeyesports.com. Steven Grace and two-time NCAA champion Mark Ironside will call the action. Live results can be found on the wrestling schedule page at hawkeyesports.com and on twitter@TheIowaHawkeyes.

ROUND OF EIGHT – CONSOLATION RESULTS (Numbers indicate tournament seed)
141 – #5 Montell Marion (Iowa) dec. #10 Todd Schavrien (Mizz), 7-3
157 – #6 Derek St. John dec. (Iowa) dec. #8 Jason Welch (NW), 6-1
184 – #12 Grant Gambrall (Iowa) won by disqualification over #5 Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming)
197 – #3 Trevor Brandvold (Wisc) dec. #5 Luke Lofthouse (Iowa), 4-0

THIRD-PLACE MATCH RESULTS (Numbers indicate tournament seed)
141 – #2 David Thorn (Minn) dec. #5 Montell Marion (Iowa), 4-3
157 – #2 Steve Fittery (American) major dec. #6 Derek St. John (Iowa), 13-0
184 – #12 Grant Gambrall (Iowa) dec. #3 Steve Bosak (Cornell), 6-3

FIFTH-PLACE MATCH RESULTS (Numbers indicate tournament seed)
197 – #5 Luke Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. #12 Zack Giesen (Stanford), 6-3

1. Penn State – 103.5
2. Cornell – 89.5
3. IOWA – 86.5
4. Oklahoma State – 66.5
5. American – 65
6. Minnesota – 61
7. Boise State – 57.5
8. Lehigh – 54.5
Wisconsin – 54.5
10. Arizona State – 52.5