Hawkeyes Top Illinois in Consolation Finals

Feb. 19, 2012

STILLWATER, Okla. – The University of Iowa wrestling team rode bonus point victories from Derek St. John and Grant Gambrall to roll past Illinois, 28-6, in the consolation finals of today’s NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals. Iowa won eight of the 10 matches.

Gambrall, an All-American at 184 pounds last year, had wrestled at 197 pounds this season up until today. He dropped a 3-1 decision in the semifinal round before responding with a 10-2 major decision against Tony Dellago in tonight’s consolation finals.

St. John, who has missed time since suffering a knee injury in early December, erased an early takedown by scoring a reversal and escape before flattening Jackson Morse 14 seconds into the second period. His win answered one of Illinois’ two wins and extended Iowa’s team lead to 15-3.

The Hawkeyes were spotted another 9-0 lead by their three lower weights. Matt McDonough avenged his only loss of the season with a 6-3 win over Jesse Delgado. Tony Ramos scored a 5-2 win over B.J. Futrell, his third win in as many tries this season against the Illini, and Montell Marion earned a 6-2 win over Daryl Thomas.

Mike Evans and Ethen Lofthouse squeezed a pair of decisions in between St. John and Gambrall’s efforts. Evans earned a 5-1 decision and Lofthouse won his fifth straight, topping Jordan Blanton 4-2.

After Gambrall clinched the dual with his major decision, Illinois got back on the board with an 11-6 win at 197. Leading the team race 25-6, Bobby Telford put the final touches on the National Duals with a 5-0 win over Illinois’ Pat Walker.

Minnesota won the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals with an 18-13 win over top-ranked Oklahoma State in the finals.

The Hawkeyes (14-4) return to the mat March 3-4 at the Big Ten Championships in West Lafayette, Ind. Purdue will host the event inside Mackey Arena. Tickets can be purchased through the Purdue ticket office by visiting purduesports.com.

NOTES: Attendance was 4,453… McDonough has won 19 in a row.

CONSOLATION FINALS (regional seeds)
#2 IOWA 28, #4 Illinois 6
125 – Matt McDonough (Iowa) dec. Jesse Delgado (Ill.), 6-3; TS 3-0
133 – Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. B.J. Futrell (Ill.), 5-2; TS 6-0
141 – Montell Marion (Iowa) dec. Daryl Thomas (Ill.), 6-2; TS 9-0
149 – Eric Terrazas (Ill.) dec. Michael Kelly (Iowa), 3-2; TS 9-3
157 – Derek St. John (Iowa) pinned Jackson Morse (Ill.), 3:14; TS 15-3
165 – Mike Evans (Iowa) dec. Conrad Polz (Ill.), 5-1; TS 18-3
174 – Ethen Lofthouse (Iowa) dec. Jordan Blanton (Ill.), 4-2; TS 21-3
184 – Grant Gambrall (Iowa) major dec. Tony Dellago (Ill.), 10-2; TS 25-3
197 – Mario Gonzalez (Ill.) dec. Vinnie Wagner (Iowa), 11-6; 25-6
285 – Bobby Telford (Iowa) dec. Pat Walker (Ill.), 5-0; TS 28-6

FINAL FOUR RESULTS (regional seeds)
#1 Oklahoma State 19, #4 Illinois 15
#3 Minnesota 16, #2 IOWA 15

#2 IOWA 28, #4 Illinois 6

#1 Oklahoma State 13, #3 Minnesota 18