3 Hawkeyes Finalize All-America Honors

March 17, 2012

Photo Gallery

ST. LOUIS — The University of Iowa wrestling team put three wrestlers on the All-America stand following consolation round competition at the 2012 NCAA Wrestling Championships. Tony Ramos (3rd-133), Bobby Telford (5th-285) and Ethen Lofthouse (7th-174) all earned their first career All-America honors.

Ramos put a stamp on his tournament by pinning Minnesota’s Chris Dardanes in the consolation finals. The Hawkeye sophomore piled up three takedowns and built an 8-4 lead before putting Dardanes on his back at the 6:49 mark. Ramos won six of seven tournament matches and finished the season with a 34-4 record.

“My family always tells me you’re only as good as your last match,” said Ramos. “If you go out with a loss you have to sit and sit, especially if you don’t have anything to win over the summer. Now it’s going to be a long wait; 365 days until next year because I didn’t finish what I wanted.”

Telford dropped a 2-0 decision to Oregon State’s Clayton Jack in the consolation semifinals before winning by forfeit in the fifth-place match. The redshirt freshman compiled a 5-2 tournament record while earning All-America honors in his first NCAA Championships. He finished the season with a 29-9 mark.

Lofthouse picked up a 3-1 decision over Cal-Poly’s Ryan DesRoches to earn seventh-place. The Hawkeye sophomore won five of seven tournament matches and finished the season with a 28-9 record.

Entering the championships finals, Iowa sits in third place with 103.5 points. Penn State (128.5) and Minnesota (113.5) sit 1-2, and Cornell (90.5) and Oklahoma State (65) round out the top five.

Iowa has three wrestlers competing for titles in tonight’s NCAA finals. Matt McDonough (125), Montell Marion (141) and Derek St. John (157) take the mat inside the Scottrade Center beginning at 6:30 p.m. (CT). The championship finals will be televised live on ESPN.

IOWA’S CONSOLATION RESULTS (# indicates tournament seed)
133 – #3 Tony Ramos (Iowa) dec. #6 Devin Carter (VaTech), 8-3
285 – #3 Clayton Jack (Oregon State) dec. #5 Bobby Telford (Iowa), 2-0

IOWA’S THIRD PLACE RESULT (# indicates tournament seed)
133 – #3 Tony Ramos (Iowa) pinned #10 Chris Dardanes (Minn), 6:49

IOWA’S FIFTH PLACE RESULT (# indicates tournament seed)
285 – #5 Bobby Telford (Iowa) won by forfeit

IOWA’S SEVENTH PLACE RESULT (# indicates tournament seed)
174 – #5 Ethen Lofthouse (174) dec. #6 Ryan DesRoches (Cal-Poly), 3-1

NCAA FINALS MATCHUPS (# indicates tournament seed)
125 – #1 Matt McDonough (Iowa) vs. #10 Nico Megaludis (Penn State)
133 – #1 Jordan Oliver (Oklahoma State) vs. #2 Logan Stieber (Ohio State)
141 – #1 Kellen Russell (Michigan) vs. #3 Montell Marion (Iowa)
149 – #1 Frank Molinaro (Penn State) vs. #7 Dylan Ness (Minnesota)
157 – #1 Kyle Dake (Cornell) vs. #2 Derek St. John (Iowa)
165 – #1 David Taylor (Penn State) vs. #11 Brandon Hatchett (Lehigh)
174 – #1 Ed Ruth (Penn State) vs. #3 Nick Amuchastegui (Stanford)
184 – #4 Steve Bosak (Cornell) vs. #6 Quentin Wright (Penn State)
197 – #1 Cam Simaz (Cornell) vs. #2 Christopher Honeycutt (Edinboro)
285 – #2 Tony Nelson (Minnesota) vs. #4 Zachery Rey (Lehigh)