Hawkeyes fall to Minnesota, 22-15, at NWCA Duals

Feb. 23, 2013

Photo Gallery

MINNEAPOLIS — The second-ranked University of Iowa wrestling team fell to No. 4 Minnesota today, 22-15, in the semifinals of the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Dual Meet Championship. Iowa dropped six of 10 matches to the Gophers at Williams Arena, and will face No. 6 Missouri in the consolation finals. The Tigers lost to top-ranked Oklahoma State in the other semifinal matchup.

The Hawkeyes jumped in front of Gophers 9-0 following a decision from top-ranked Matt McDonough and No. 2 Tony Ramos. McDonough scored a takedown in all three periods and piled up 1:08 of riding time to defeat No. 13 David Thorn.

Ramos scored two takedowns in the first, one in the second, and one in the third before wearing down No. 7 Chris Dardanes and finishing the fall in 6:56.

Minnesota answered with a major decision at 141 and a fall at 149 to take its first lead of the dual, but Iowa answered with consecutive wins by Derek St. John and Nick Moore at 157 and 165, respectively.

St. John used three takedowns to earn a 7-4 win over Danny Zilverberg, and Moore used a takedown in the final period to defeat No. 14 Cody Yohn, 3-2. The consecutive wins helped Iowa reclaim the lead, 15-10, but Minnesota (15-2) finished the dual with four consecutive decisions to hand Iowa (20-2) just its second dual loss of the season.

“We got reversed and we got ridden. We spent a lot of time underneath the guy at the end of periods. Our demeanor changed and we cannot let that happen,” said head coach Tom Brands.

“They won six, and got the major and pin. We have to compete better. We have to compete from the start of the match to the end. That’s the bottom line.”

The Hawkeyes will wrestle Missouri for third place tonight at 7:30 p.m.

Notes: Attendance was 2,313 … Ramos has pinned five of his last six opponents… McDonough improved to 10-1 against ranked opponents.

#2 IOWA 15, #4 Minnesota 22
125 – #1 Matt McDonough (IA) dec. #13 David Thorn (M), 8-2; 3-0
133 – #2 Tony Ramos (IA) pinned #7 Chris Dardanes (M), 6:56; 9-0
141 – #8 Nick Dardanes (M) major dec. #7 Mark Ballweg (IA), 12-4; 9-4
149 – #11 Dylan Ness (M) pinned Michael Kelly (IA), 2:39; 9-10
157 – #1 Derek St. John (IA) dec. Danny Zilverberg (M), 7-4; 12-10
165 – #13 Nick Moore (IA) dec. #14 Cody Yohn (M), 3-2; 15-10
174 – #1 Logan Storley (M) dec. #3 Mike Evans (IA), 3-1; 15-13
184 – #5 Kevin Steinhaus (M) dec. Grant Gambrall (IA), 4-0; 15-16
197 – #10 Scott Shiller (M) dec. Nathan Burak (IA), 9-3; 15-19
285 -#2 Tony Nelson (M) dec. #6 Bobby Telford (IA), 3-1; 15-22