Iowa Names Football Leadership Group

June 5, 2013

IOWA CITY, IOWA – – Fifteen University of Iowa football players have been named to the team’s 2013 Leadership Group. Head coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group Wednesday.

The group for the upcoming year includes six seniors, three juniors, four sophomores and two redshirt freshmen. A member of the 2013 incoming freshman class will be added in the fall. The purpose of the group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season. Players are selected by a team vote.

“This is an outstanding group of players that will represent their teammates well,” said Ferentz. “I look forward to visiting with this group in the weeks ahead, as well as during the season.”

The six seniors are LB Anthony Hitchens, LB Christian Kirksey, LS Casey Kreiter, DB B.J. Lowery, LB James Morris and OL Brett Van Sloten. The juniors include WR Kevonte Martin-Manley, OL Brandon Scherff and RB Mark Weisman. The sophomore class is represented by OL Austin Blythe, DB Jordan Lomax, DL Drew Ott and QB Jake Rudock. The redshirt freshmen are QB C.J. Beathard and OL Ryan Ward.

The 2013 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

C.J. Beathard, QB, Redshirt Freshman, Franklin, Tenn.
Austin Blythe, OL, Sophomore, Williamsburg, Iowa
Anthony Hitchens, LB, Senior, Lorain, Ohio
Christian Kirksey, LB, Senior, St. Louis, Mo.
Casey Kreiter, LS, Senior, DeWitt, Iowa
Jordan Lomax, DB, Sophomore, Upper Marlboro, Md.
B.J. Lowery, DB, Senior, Cincinnati, Ohio
Kevonte Martin-Manley, WR, Junior, Pontiac, Mich.
James Morris, LB, Senior, Solon, Iowa
Drew Ott, DL, Sophomore, Giltner, Neb.
Jake Rudock, QB, Sophomore, Weston, Fla.
Brandon Scherff, OL, Junior, Denison, Iowa
Brett Van Sloten, OL, Senior, Decorah, Iowa
Ryan Ward, OL, Redshirt Freshman, Homer Glen, Ill.
Mark Weisman, RB, Junior, Buffalo Grove, Ill.