Iowa Battles Gophers to 2-2 Draw

Stats | Boxscore

Oct. 18, 2013

Box Score

MINNEAPOLIS — The University of Iowa women’s soccer team scored two goals in a 2-2 draw against Minnesota on Friday night at Elizabeth Lyle Robbie Stadium in Minneapolis.

The Hawkeyes launched 29 shots — 18 on goal — at the Golden Gopher defense, but Minnesota goalkeeper Tarah Hobbs made 16 saves in the contest.

“We took some shots from distance, and (Hobbs) made a few very impressive reaction saves,” said UI head coach Ron Rainey. “We’re not overly happy, we’re not overly depressed. This game really could’ve gone either way.”

The scoring started early for both squads, as junior Anne Marie Thomas netted her fourth goal of the year, heading the ball in off of a corner from senior Ashley Catrell.

Minnesota’s Taylor Stainbrook knotted the game up just four minutes later, sending a shot past a diving Hannah Clark. The strike was the only shot on goal the Gophers would muster in the first half.

With the score tied at 1-1, Minnesota’s Steph Brandt scored the Gopher’s second goal of the game in the 61st minute to give Minnesota the 2-1 lead.

Senior Alex Melin and the Hawkeyes answered only seven minutes later, corralling a hard-struck pass from junior Melanie Pickert, and firing it past Hobbs to even the tally at two.

In the first overtime, Iowa fired four shots at Hobbs, only to have each one deflected by her defense, pushed wide, or sent into her arms. Junior Cloe Lacasse attempted a shot with two seconds left, only to have it corralled by the busy Minnesota goalkeeper.

The Hawkeyes took the two lone shots of the overtime period, and both were unable to find the back of the net. The game ended in a 2-2 tie, the first for Iowa this season.

“This game leaves us wanting to work hard and get a win on Sunday,” said Rainey. “This was a hard-fought, tough Big Ten game.”

The tie moves the Hawkeyes to 11-3-1 on the season, with a 3-3-1 record in conference play. Iowa’s next match takes place in Madison, Wis., against Wisconsin on Sunday beginning at 1 p.m. (CT).