Hawkeyes Crown 3 at Jim Fox Open

Dec. 9, 2013

Jim Fox Open Brackets

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa wrestling team crowned three champions at the Jim Fox Open on the campus of Dubuque University on Saturday.

Phillip Laux (125), Brandon Sorensen (157) and Walt Gillmor (165) all earned tournament titles at their respective weights.

Laux improved to 13-0 this year after recording two decisions, one fall and one major decision to win the 125-pound title.

Gillmor improved to 8-0 this year, recording two falls and a decision to win the 165-pound bracket.

Sorensen won his first career tournament title with three straight decisions at 157 pounds.

Broc Berge (197) won a pair of decisions in the quarter and semifinals before falling, 3-1, in the finals of the 197-pound bracket. Jeremy Fahler earned a runner-up finish at 184 pounds.

Ethan Owens (141), Connor Ryan (149), Logan Thomsen (157), and Terrance Jean-Jacques (285) all placed third.