Scherff, Morris Named to All-America Team

Dec. 23, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Junior offensive lineman Brandon Scherff and senior linebacker James Morris have been named to Phil Steele’s postseason All-America teams, while the publication named several additional Hawkeyes to its postseason All-Big Ten teams.

Scherff was named second team All-America, while Morris was named fourth team. Scherff was previously named second team All-America by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and College Sports Madness, and earned third team All-America honors from Athlon Sports and Lindy’s.

Scherff started all 12 games at left tackle in 2013. He was named first team All-Big Ten by league coaches and earned that same honor from Sporting News and College Sports Madness, while being named second team by Athlon’s.

Morris has started 41 career games and has 392 tackles to rank sixth in career stops. He is second on the team with 99 tackles in 2013, while leading the Hawkeyes in tackles for loss (15.5-54), sacks (6-3) and pass interceptions (four). He earned second team All-Big honors from both Big Ten coaches and league media and was the Iowa recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Off the field, Morris was named to the CoSIDA/Capital One first Academic All-America team while earning Academic All-Big Ten recognition for the third straight year. He was named a National Scholar-Athlete by the National Football Foundation, was one of four finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy and one of 12 finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy.

Scherff was named first team All-Big Ten by Phil Steele, along with senior defensive back B.J. Lowery and junior wide receiver Kevonte Martin-Manley, who was selected for his play on punt returns. Morris was named to Steele’s second team, along with senior linebacker Anthony Hitchens, senior tight end C.J. Fiedorowicz and senior kicker Mike Meyer.

Hawkeyes earning third team recognition included junior running back Mark Weisman, senior offensive lineman Brett Van Sloten, senior linebacker Christian Kirksey and junior defensive lineman Carl Davis.

Lowery is tied for third in the nation in pass break-ups (1.6); while Martin-Manley ranks seventh nationally in punt return average (16.2). As a wide receiver, Martin-Manley leads the Hawkeyes with 39 receptions for 384 yards and four touchdowns.

Fiedorowicz has at least one reception in 30 consecutive games. This season he has 26 receptions for 253 yards and six touchdowns, improving his career totals to 87 catches for 853 yards and 10 touchdowns. Hitchens leads Iowa in tackles (102) for the second straight season. Davis registered 39 tackles while starting all 12 games at tackle.

Meyer has handled Iowa’s kicking duties throughout his career. He ranks second to Nate Kaeding in career scoring (322) and field goals (61). He has made a school-record 120 consecutive PAT attempts (39-39 in 2013) and had made 16-21 field goal attempts this season. Van Sloten started all 12 games at right tackle and all 24 games over the past two seasons.

Weisman leads Iowa’s rushing attack with 938 yards and seven touchdowns in 2013 and has totaled 1,753 career rushing yards.

Iowa (8-4) will meet LSU (9-3) in the 2014 Outback Bowl on Jan. 1. Game time is 12:03 p.m. CT for the contest that will be televised on ESPN.