5 Hawkeyes Finish with All-America Honors

March 22, 2014

Photo Gallery | NCAA Session V Highlights | Session V brackets

OKLAHOMA CITY — Five University of Iowa wrestlers completed their respective All-America seasons today in the medal round of the 2014 NCAA Championships at Chesapeake Energy Arena.

Cory Clark, Derek St. John, Mike Evans, Nathan Burak, and Bobby Telford will be among the 80 Division I wrestlers honored at the NCAA Parade of All-Americans on Saturday before the national finals.

St. John placed fifth at 157 pounds to earn All-America honors for the fourth straight year. A senior from Parnell, Iowa, St. John is just the 18th four-time All-American in program history. He finished his career with one NCAA title, one Big Ten title, and 106 career wins, but said it’s too early to process what he has done the last four years.

“I came (to this tournament) for a purpose, and placing the lowest you’ve placed in four years kind of stings,” said St. John, who finished fourth as a freshman, second as a sophomore, and first as a junior. “There’s been a lot of big matches, and a lot of accomplishments, but you have to come ready to go and you need to be ready to go every match. It’s a get what you deserve kind of thing I guess.”

Evans and Telford both earned All-America honors for the second time.

Evans placed sixth for the second straight year. He finished the season with a career-best 28 wins and a team-high six technical falls. Telford rebounded from an injury at the 2013 tournament to place fourth at 285 pounds this year. He previously placed fifth as a freshman in 2012.

Clark and Burak each climbed to the All-America stand for the first time in their careers. Clark went 5-2 in his first appearance at the national tournament and placed fifth at 125.

“I’ve always set high goals. This year’s was winning a national championship and it didn’t happen,” said Clark, who is the fourth Hawkeye freshman in five years to earn All-America honors. “It’s hard not to reach those goals, but the experience will definitely help going into next year.”

Burak was stopped short of the All-America stand as a freshman in the round of 12 last season, but he knocked through that door in 2014 and finished in eighth place at 197.

With only championship matches remaining, Iowa has 74.5 points and is assured a fourth-place finish. Minnesota is pacing the field with 104 points. Penn State (101.5), Oklahoma State (87.5), and Edinboro (62) round out the top five.

The Hawkeyes have one wrestler remaining in the championship bracket. Three-time All-American Tony Ramos will chase his first national title tonight at 7 p.m. (CT). The finals, televised on ESPN and streamed online at ESPN3.com, will start with the 174-pound title match and end at 165 pounds.

1. Minnesota 104
2. Penn State 101.5
3. Oklahoma St. 87.5
4. IOWA 74.5
5. Edinboro 62
6. Cornell 53
7. Ohio State 52
8. Virginia Tech 49
9. Oklahoma 45
10. Nebraska 43.5

285 – #6 Mike McMullan (NW) dec. #5 Bobby Telford (Iowa), 3-1

125 – #8 Cory Clark (Iowa) dec. Dylan Peters (UNI), 8-1
157 – #2 Derek St. John (Iowa) won by medical forfeit
174 – #5 Matt Brown (PSU) dec. #4 Mike Evans (Iowa), 6-3

197 – #3 Morgan McIntosh (PSU) dec. #11 Nathan Burak (Iowa), 3-1

125 – #8 Cory Clark (Iowa) dec. #3 Nico Megaludis (PSU), 5-2
157 – #4 Ian Miller (Kent State) dec. #2 Derek St. John (Iowa), 14-9
174 – #3 Robert Kokesh (Neb.) dec. #4 Mike Evans (Iowa), 10-4
285 – #5 Bobby Telford (Iowa) dec. #7 Mike McClure (MSU), 1-0

133 – #3 Tony Ramos (Iowa) vs. #5 Tyler Graff (Wisconsin)