Hawkeyes Complete Day-One of San Diego Crew Classic

April 5, 2014

SAN DIEGO — The University of Iowa women’s rowing team competed in day-one of the 41st annual San Diego Crew Classic, Saturday morning at Crown Point Shores on Mission Bay in San Diego.

“It was a solid first day and I think all crews raced pretty well,” said head coach Andrew Carter. “I think they all see some areas where they can improve so we will look to make some changes tomorrow to address that.

“I think that how they are racing is evolving and that the early stage of our on-water season explains much of that. As we progress through the season, I expect that evolution to continue and the intent is to take another step tomorrow.”

Iowa’s 1V4+ boat tallied a season-best time of 7:35.63 as it placed third in Group B of its respected race. No. 6 USC won the race, 10 seconds ahead of the Hawkeyes, while No. 10 UCLA finished six seconds ahead to place second.

The Hawkeye’s 2V8+ boat also recorded a season-best time as they finished third in their race in 6:50.56. USC finished 10 seconds in front of Iowa, winning the race, while No. 15 Wisconsin took second, seven seconds ahead.

In Group B of the Women’s Collegiate Cal. Cup, the Hawkeye’s 1V8+ boat took the runner-up spot with a time of 7:02.40, one second in front of the St. Mary’s boat. British Columbia took first, finishing five seconds in front of Iowa in 6:57.98.

Complete results of day-one races can be found HERE.

The Hawkeyes will continue action in San Diego as they compete in the finals of their races on Sunday morning. Races will begin at 9:20 a.m. (CT).


1V8+: Laura Hallman, Erin Czupil, Morgan Grastorf, Beth Baustian, Claire Benschoter, Lauren Subler, Edwina Flakemore, Zoe Ribar, Katie Brown (coxswain)

2V8+: Brianna Achs, Madeline Anglin, Gabrielle Watson, Cristy Hartman, Allison Hanson, Mackenzie Norton, Jessica Streur, Rebecca Thompson, Sarah Bartlett (coxswain)

1V4+: Nina Hendriks, Alyssa Armstrong, Sarah Rhoads, Skylar McSorley, Destinee Gwee (coxswain)