Hawkeyes New and Old to Compete in Vegas

April 17, 2014

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Eight Hawkeyes and four members of the Hawkeye Wrestling Club will represent the University of Iowa this weekend at the 2014 Open Wrestling Championships in Las Vegas.

The Junior National Championships and the U.S. Senior Open will be contested Friday and Saturday at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

Hawkeye Wrestling Club members Micah Burak, Phil Keddy, Matt McDonough, and Brent Metcalf compete at the U.S. Senior Open beginning Friday at 11 a.m. (CT). The semifinals are Friday at 9 p.m. (CT), and the finals start Saturday at 9 p.m. (CT). The semifinals and finals of the U.S. Senior Open will air live on Universal Sports Network.

University of Iowa wrestlers Broc Berge, Topher Carton, Phillip Laux, Jake Marlin, Logan McQuillen, Alex Meyer, Brandon Sorensen, and Logan Thomsen compete at the Junior National Championships beginning Friday at 11 a.m. (CT). Semifinals start Saturday at 11 a.m. (CT), and the finals begin Saturday at 4 p.m. (CT).

Flowrestling is providing a live webcast of the Open Wrestling Championships though its premium subscription service, Flo Pro.

55 kg/121.25 lbs.
Phillip Laux

63 kg/138.75 lbs.
Topher Carton

66 kg/ 145.5 lbs.
Jake Marlin

74 kg/154 lbs.
Brandon Sorensen

74 kg/163 lbs.
Logan McQuillen
Logan Thomsen

84 kg/185 lbs.
Alex Meyer

96 kg/211.5 lbs.
Broc Berge

U.S. OPEN SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIPS (top 3 pre-seed plus HWC)
57 kg/125.5 lbs.
1. Angel Escobedo, Columbus, Ohio (New York AC/Ohio RTC)
2. Andrew Hochstrasser, Boise, Idaho (Titan Mercury WC)
3. Tyler Graff, Loveland, Colo. (New York AC)

61 kg/134 lbs.
1. Jimmy Kennedy, Ann Arbor, Mich. (New York AC/Cliff Keen WC)
2. B.J. Futrell, Ann Arbor, Mich. (Titan Mercury WC/Cliff Keen WC)
3. Coleman Scott, Stillwater, Okla. (Titan Mercury WC/Cowboy RTC)
4. Matt McDonough, Iowa City, Iowa (Hawkeye WC)

65 kg/143 lbs.
1. Brent Metcalf, Iowa City, Iowa (New York AC/Titan Mercury WC)
2. Kellen Russell, Ann Arbor, Mich. (New York AC/Cliff Keen WC)
3. Jordan Oliver, Stillwater, Okla. (Titan Mercury WC/Cowboy RTC)

70 kg/154 lbs.
1. Nick Marable, Columbia, Mo. (Sunkist Kids/Missouri RTC)
2. Moza Fay, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army)
3. Kevin LeValley, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)

74 kg/163 lbs.
1. Jordan Burroughs, Lincoln, Neb. (Sunkist Kids/Nebraska Wrestling Training Center)
2. David Taylor, St. Paris, Ohio (Nittany Lion WC)
3. Tyler Caldwell, Stillwater, Okla. (Sunkist Kids)

86 kg/189 lbs.
1. Keith Gavin, Columbus, Ohio (Titan Mercury WC/Ohio RTC)
2. Clayton Foster, Laramie, Wyo. (Cowboy WC/GRIT Athletics)
3. Phil Keddy, Iowa City, Iowa (Titan Mercury WC/Hawkeye WC)

97 kg/213 lbs.
1. J.D. Bergman, Columbus, Ohio (New York AC/Titan Mercury WC/Ohio RTC)
2. Jake Varner, State College, Pa. (Nittany Lion WC)
3. Chris Pendleton, Laramie, Wyo. (Titan Mercury WC)
10. Micah Burak, Iowa City, Iowa (Hawkeye WC)

125 kg/275 lbs.
1. Tervel Dlagnev, Columbus, Ohio (Sunkist Kids/Ohio RTC)
2. Tyrell Fortune, Portland, Ore. (Titan Mercury WC)
3. Dom Bradley, Columbia, Mo. (Sunkist Kids)