Iowa Names 2014 Football Leadership Group

April 28, 2014

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa football program has named 12 players to the 2014 Leadership Group. Head coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group Monday.

The group for the upcoming year includes five seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and two redshirt freshmen. The purpose of the group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season. Players are selected by a team vote.

“Our entire team, by class, has done an outstanding job of naming quality representatives to this group,” said Ferentz. “I look forward to visiting and working with this group in the coming weeks and throughout next season. Their leadership plays an important role in our program’s success.”

The five seniors are LB Quinton Alston, DL Carl Davis, OL Brandon Scherff, DT Louis Trinca-Pasat and RB Mark Weisman. The juniors include OL Austin Blythe, DB Jordan Lomax and QB Jake Rudock. The sophomore class is represented by QB C.J. Beathard and OL Ryan Ward, and the redshirt freshmen named to the group include LB Josey Jewell and OL Sean Welsh.

The 2014 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Quinton Alston, LB, Senior, Sicklerville, N.J.
C.J. Beathard, QB, Sophomore, Franklin, Tenn.
Austin Blythe, OL, Junior, Williamsburg, Iowa
Carl Davis, DL, Senior, Detroit, Mich.
Josey Jewell, LB, Redshirt Freshman, Decorah, Iowa
Jordan Lomax, DB, Junior, Upper Marlboro, Md.
Jake Rudock, QB, Junior, Weston, Fla.
Brandon Scherff, OL, Senior, Denison, Iowa
Louis Trinca-Pasat, DL, Senior, Chicago, Ill.
Ryan Ward OL, Sophomore, Homer Glen, Ill.
Mark Weisman, RB, Senior, Buffalo Grove, Ill.
Sean Welsh, OL, Redshirt Freshman, Springboro, Ohio