Iowa Concludes Fall Season at Jayhawk Jamboree


Oct. 18, 2014

Results Get Acrobat Reader

fbgold.jpgtwit22gold.jpg fbblack.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa women’s rowing team concluded the fall season at the Jayhawk Jamboree Saturday morning at the Kansas Boathouse at Burcham Park in Lawrence, Kansas.

The regatta featured men’s and women’s teams from multiple schools, including Drake, Kansas State, University of Kansas and Tulsa.


“This was a really nice way to cap the competitive component of our fall season,” said head coach Andrew Carter. “We remain focused on preparations for the spring and the series of competitive opportunities we scheduled went a long way in helping us in those preparations.

The Hawkeyes started competition with three top five finishes in the women’s V8+. Boat A took first place with a time of 13:18.34, boat B placed second with a time of 13:19.04, and boat C finished fifth place with a time of 13:39.45. Kansas State boat A took fourth place with a time of 13:25.52.

In the women’s V4+, four Iowa boats placed in the top 10. Boat A won the event in 14:43.20, boat B finished third with a time of 14:48.48, boat C finished fourth place in 14:49.93, and boat D finished 10th in 15:30.09.

The Hawkeyes stayed strong in the women’s N8+, as boat A placed first with a time of 14:27.07 and boat B took third in 14:51.04. Kansas State finished between the two Hawkeye boats with a time of 14:41.17.

Iowa concluded competition with the women’s N4+. Boat B placed runner-up with a 15:55.74 effort, while boat A finished fourth with a time of 16:42.43.

“Coach Catloth and the University of Kansas put on a great day of racing and our crews certainly took advantage,” said Carter. “I think they have great perspective and motivation as they move into our next phase of training.

The Hawkeyes will open their regular season in DeLand, Florida, on Feb. 18, 2015.

Line Ups:

Varsity 8+

A: Jessica Streur, Zoe Ribar, Morgan Grastorf, Lauren Subler, Claire Benschoter, Cristy Hartman, Brianna Achs, Beth Baustian, Katie Brown (coxswain)

B: Alyssa Armstrong, Erin Czupil, Gabrielle Watson, Victoria Bricker, Kaelynn Heiberg, Rebecca Thompson, Nina Hendriks, Madeline Anglin, Destinee Gwee (coxswain)

C: Sarah Powell, Skylar McSorley, Allison Hanson, Kat Tillman, Bec Clayton, Kasia Gniatczyk, Gemma Kerr, Bianca DiBellonia, Rachel Chambers (coxswain)

Varsity 4+

A: Nina Hendriks, Zoe Ribar, Brianna Achs, Beth Baustian, Katie Brown (coxswain)

B: Alyssa Armstrong, Rebecca Thompson, Jessica Streur, Madeline Anglin, Destinee Gwee (coxswain)

C: Claire Benschoter, Kat Tillman, Morgan Grastorf, Victoria Bricker, Rachel Chambers (coxswain)

D: Kaelynn Heiberg, Cristy Hartman, Gabrielle Watson, Erin Czupil, McKinzie Cowley (coxswain)

Novice 8+

A: Baillie McCunn, Ashlynn Bauer, Amy Schembari, Liz Zoz, Izzy Dolba, Brenna Parke, Ashley Duda, Kelsey Cousins, Emma Hindes (coxswain)

B: Trisha Huerta, Emily Rebik, Amelia Koehn, Alyssa Wagenknecht, Hannah Morris, Rachael Jipp, Zora Marinkovich, Jordan Veatch, Sara Kathleen Hutchinson (coxswain)

Novice 4+

A: Baillie McCunn, Brenna Parke, Ashley Duda, Jordan Veatch, Emma Hindes (coxswain)

B: Amy Schembari, Liz Zoz, Izzy Dolba, Ashlynn Bauer, Sara Kathleen Hutchinson (coxswain)

Print Friendly Version