Zadick, 1997 Hawkeyes to enter Glen Brand HOF

10478919.jpegOct. 28, 2014


IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa All-American and Olympian Mike Zadick is a member of the 2015 Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame class. Zadick is joined by four other individuals — Rich Binek, Mike Mann, Rick Caldwell, and Fred Cooper — and the 1997 University of Iowa wrestling team. The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum announced the inductees Tuesday.

Zadick was a three-time All-American from 2000-02 and won the 149-pound Big Ten title in 2002. He won a silver medal at the 2006 World Championships and represented the United States at the Beijing Olympics in 2008. He was also a member of the 2007 and 2010 World Championship teams, and was on the Iowa staff when the Hawkeyes won NCAA titles from 2008-10.


The 1997 University of Iowa wrestling team — the third team ever inducted into the Glen Brand Hall of Fame — scored a tournament-record 170 points in head coach Dan Gable’s final season. The Hawkeyes won their 17th team title, crowning five NCAA champions and eight All-Americans.

The Glen Brand Wrestling Hall of Fame of Iowa was established in 2002 to honor those who have made an impact on the sport on a national level, or who have done extraordinary work in the State of Iowa. The hall recognizes native-born Iowans, and those who achieved their fame while wrestling or coaching for an Iowa school.

For more information about the HOF ceremony and induction banquet, contact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at (319) 233-0745 or

Print Friendly Version