Terry Brands Named USAW Coach of the Year

June 25, 2015


IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa associate head coach Terry Brands has been named 2014 Terry McCann Freestyle Coach of the Year, USA Wrestling announced Wednesday.


Brands was recognized for his role in shaping the 2014 United States World Team. Former NCAA champions and current Hawkeye Wrestling Club (HWC) members Brent Metcalf (65 kg) and Tony Ramos (57 kg) represented the U.S. at the 2014 World Championships in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. Both wrestlers defended their national titles this year and compete at the 2015 World Championships in Las Vegas on Sept. 7-12.

Brands has led the HWC since returning to the UI coaching staff in 2008. Prior to his return, he served as USA Wrestling’s national freestyle resident coach and assistant national freestyle coach from 2005-2008. During his time at the U.S. Olympic Training Center, he trained 2006 World Champion Bill Zadick and 2008 Olympic Champion Henry Cejudo.

Brands has served on the coaching staff for U.S. teams that competed at three World Championships (2005-07) and the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, China. The United States won eight World and Olympic medals during those years.

A two-time World and NCAA champion, Terry Brands is the third HWC coach to earn the Terry McCann Award. University of Iowa head coach Tom Brands earned the honor in 2002 and 2003, and Mike Duroe won the award in 2005.

The freestyle coach of the year award is named after former University of Iowa wrestler Terry McCann. McCann won NCAA titles for the Hawkeyes in 1955 and 1956 and was a 1960 Olympic champion. He was a long-time coach at the Mayor Daley Youth Foundation club and served as USA Wrestling President and a FILA Bureau member.

Print Friendly Version