Ott Added To Nagurski Trophy Watch List


July 10, 2015

fbgold.jpg twitgold222-bluebird.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack-whitebird.jpg

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior defensive end Drew Ott has been named to the 2015 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The announcement was made Friday by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). Ott is one of 88 Division I players nominated for the award, which is presented annually to the national defensive player of the year.

Ott (6-foot-4, 272-pounds) started all 13 games in 2014, recording 57 total tackles, including 26 solo stops and 31 assists. The Trumbull, Nebraska, native tied for sixth in the Big Ten and led the Hawkeyes in QB sacks (8-41), while also leading the Iowa defense in tackles for loss (12-54) and QB pressures (seven).


A preseason second team All-Big Ten selection by both Athlon Sports and Phil Steele, Ott was named second team All-Big Ten by league media following the 2014 campaign. In addition, he garnered third team All-Big Ten honors by College Sports Madness and honorable mention All-Big Ten by league coaches. He also earned Academic All-Big Ten honors for the second straight year.

The FWAA will announce a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season and, in conjunction with the Charlotte Touchdown Club, announce five finalists for the 2015 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 19. The winner will be announced Dec. 7 at the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association’s entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in college football.

Founded in 1941, the FWAA consists of the men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA also sponsors scholarships for aspiring writers and an annual writing contest. Behind the leadership of President Kirk Bohls and Executive Director Steve Richardson and a board of veteran journalists, the FWAA continues to grow and work to help college football prosper at all levels.

Ott and the Hawkeyes open the 2015 season by hosting Illinois State on Sept. 5 inside Kinnick Stadium. Tickets are available for purchase by contacting the UI Athletic Ticket Office at (800) IA-HAWKS, or online at

Print Friendly Version