Uthoff Named to Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List


Jan. 25, 2016

fbgold.jpg twitgold222-bluebird.jpg fbblack.jpg twitblack-whitebird.jpg

ST. LOUIS — University of Iowa senior forward Jarrod Uthoff has been named to the Midseason Watch List for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced Monday.

Uthoff is one of 20 players named to the prestigious list. The native of Cedar Rapids, Iowa, is also on the John Wooden Midseason Top 25 List and the Lute Olson Award Watch List.

Uthoff leads the Big Ten in scoring (18.9 ppg) and blocked shots (3.0 bpg). He is the only player from a Power 5 conference with 350-plus points, 115-plus rebounds, and 55-plus blocked shots. He is also the only player in the country to reach double figures and block at least one shot in every contest this season and is the only college player the last 20 years to average three blocks, while also shooting at a 40 percent clip from 3-point range (min. 35 3-pointers made).

Over his last five games, Uthoff is 15-of-27 (.556) from 3-point range and has scored 20 or more points in five of his last six contests. The 6-foot-9, 221-pound forward averaged 20.8 points, 5.8 rebounds, and three blocks against nine teams currently ranked in the RPI Top 50.

The award will be presented at the College Basketball Awards gala in Oklahoma City on April 11, 2016, at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum. Access Sports, a non-profit organization committed to supporting various charitable causes, will serve as host for the gala. Funds from the gala are used to support youth basketball programs in Oklahoma that allow disadvantaged youth the opportunity to participate in leagues and training.

The USBWA, comprised of nearly 1,000 sports journalists covering college basketball for newspapers, magazines, and websites, will select the recipients of the awards. This will be the first time the women’s college player of the year will be featured at the gala.

Oscar Robertson Trophy (Men’s National Player of the Year) Watch List
Grayson Allen, Duke
Kris Dunn, Providence
Kahlil Felder, Oakland
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame
Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Jalen Jones, Texas A&M
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Monte Morris, Iowa State
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Gary Payton II, Oregon State
Wayne Seldon Jr., Kansas
Ben Simmons, LSU
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

Print Friendly Version