Jok Named to USBWA All-District Team

Hawkeyes in the NBA | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch | Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store – | Big Ten Tournament Bracket (PDF)


IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior Peter Jok was named Tuesday to the 10-player All-District VI team by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). Jok is also one of five finalists for the 2017 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award.
Jok earns all-district accolades for the second straight season. It also marks the fourth consecutive season a Hawkeye has garnered all-district recognition (Roy Devyn Marble in 2014; Aaron White in 2015; Jarrod Uthoff and Jok in 2016).
The winner of the Jerry West Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 10-24. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel narrowed the original watch list of 20 candidates down to 10 and now the final five.
The winner of the 2017 Jerry West Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards, presented by Wendy’s, live from The Novo by Microsoft in Los Angeles on April 7.
Jok, a native of West Des Moines, Iowa, is the Big Ten scoring leader, averaging 20.2 points per game. He also ranks first in the conference in free throw percentage (.9202, 150-of-163) and is closing in on the Big Ten single-season free throw percentage record held by Steve Alford of Indiana (.9206, 116-of-126) set in 1985. Jok, who was tabbed first-team All-Big Ten on Monday, also averages 5.7 rebounds, 2.65 assists, 2.6 3-pointers, and 1.1 steals per contest.
The shooting guard has scored 30 points or more five times this season, a total that ties for first among players from Power 5 conferences. Jok (6-foot-6, 205 pounds) poured in a career-high 42 points against Memphis on Nov. 26; the 42 points are the most by a Hawkeye in 40 years and ties Bruce King (1976) for fourth most in Iowa single-game history. The team co-captain has posted four double-doubles this season and his 20.2 points per game scoring average ranks fifth among players from Power 5 conferences. Jok currently ranks 16th in Iowa career scoring with 1,455 points.
Joining Jok on the 10-player all-district squad are Jeffrey Carroll (Oklahoma State); Mike Daum (South Dakota State); Jawun Evans (Oklahoma State); Marcus Foster (Creighton); Josh Jackson (Kansas); Frank Mason III (Kansas); Naz Mitrou-Long (Iowa State); Monte Morris (Iowa State); Tai Webster (Nebraska).
Joining Jok as finalists for the Jerry West Award are Marcus Foster of Creighton, Duke’s Luke Kennard, Malik Monk of Kentucky, and UCLA’s Bryce Alford.
Iowa (18-13, 10-8) will open play at the Big Ten Tournament on Thursday against Indiana (17-14, 7-11). Game time is set for 5:30 p.m. (CT) at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C. (ESPN2).