Jok Named NABC All-District

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawkeyes in the NBA | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch | Hawk Talk Monthly — March | 2017-18 Men’s Basketball Ticket Wait LIst


IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior Peter Jok was named Wednesday to the five-player All-District 7 first team by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across the country.
The Hawkeye senior earns all-district accolades by the NABC for the second straight season; Jok was a second team honoree a year ago. It also marks the fourth consecutive season a Hawkeye has garnered all-district recognition (Roy Devyn Marble in 2014; Aaron White in 2015; Jarrod Uthoff and Jok in 2016).
The native of West Des Moines, Iowa, led the Big Ten in scoring (19.9), while also averaging 5.5 rebounds, 2.6 assists, 1.1 steals, and 2.6 3-pointers. Jok established new school free throw percentage records for a single-season (.911) and career (.881). Jok, who was also recognized as a first-team All-Big Ten and USBWA All-District honoree earlier this month, finished his senior season with 636 points — the most by a Hawkeye since Adam Haluska in 2007 (637).
The shooting guard scored 30 points or more five times this season, a total that ties for first among players from Power 5 conferences. Jok (6-foot-6, 205 pounds) poured in a career-high 42 points against Memphis on Nov. 26; the 42 points are the most by a Hawkeye in 40 years and ties Bruce King (1976) for fourth most in Iowa single-game history. The team co-captain posted four double-doubles as a senior and his 19.9 points per game average ranks sixth among players from Power 5 conferences. Jok finished his Hawkeye career ranked 15th in Iowa career scoring (1,508) and fourth in 3-pointers (216).
Jok will participate in the college 3-Point Championships on March 30, in Phoenix — site of the Final Four.
The Hawkeyes, who placed in the upper division of the Big Ten Conference for the fifth straight season, finished the 2016-17 season with 19 victories.
District 7
First Team
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
Miles Bridges, Michigan State
Second Team
Nate Mason, Minnesota
Derrick Walton, Jr., Michigan
Bryant McIntosh, Northwestern
Tai Webster, Nebraska
Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin