Axmear, Cashman Win Titles at Flanagan Open

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19 | I-Club Events Page | Hawk Talk Daily

DUBUQUE, Iowa — University of Iowa wrestlers Aaron Cashman and Zach Axmear won title Saturday at the Pat “Flash” Flanagan Open on the campus of the Loras University.

Cashman, a true freshman, went 3-0 with a technical fall to win the the 125-pound bracket in his collegiate debut. Axmear, a redshirt freshman, won the 149-pound bracket with three wins, including a second period fall. 

Junior Aaron Meyer placed fourth in the 141-pound bracket. Freshman Joe Kelly was runner-up at 157, and sophomore Preston Stephenson placed third at 165. 

Complete Hawkeye Results

Open 125 — Aaron Cashman — 1st place
Quarterfinal – Aaron Cashman (Iowa) won by tech fall over Jacob Ragsdale (Upper Iowa) (TF 18-3)
Semifinal – Aaron Cashman (Iowa) won by medical forfeit over Anthony Pisciotta (Maryville) (MFF)
1st Place Match – Aaron Cashman (Iowa) won by decision over Tyler Kreith (Maryville) (Dec 6-3)

Open 141 — Aaron Meyer — 4th place
Champ. Round 1 – Aaron Meyer (Iowa) received a bye () (Bye)
Quarterfinal – Aaron Meyer (Iowa) won by decision over Frankie Indelli (Loras College) (Dec 10-4)
Semifinal – Clint Lembeck (Loras College) won by decision over Aaron Meyer (Iowa) (Dec 11-9)
Cons. Semi – Aaron Meyer (Iowa) won by fall over Ryan Roth (Upper Iowa) (Fall 1:29)
3rd Place Match – Kevin Kelly (Loras College) won by decision over Aaron Meyer (Iowa) (Dec 7-6)

Open 141 — Cam Shaver
Champ. Round 1 – Raul Marrero (Lincoln College) won by major decision over Cam Shaver (Iowa) (Maj 13-2)
Cons. Round 1 – Connor Manderfeld (Upper Iowa) won by fall over Cam Shaver (Iowa) (Fall 6:42)

Open 149 — Zach Axmear — 1st place
Champ. Round 1 – Zach Axmear (Iowa) received a bye () (Bye)
Quarterfinal – Zach Axmear (Iowa) won by decision over Anthony Gibson (Northern Illinois) (Dec 7-1)
Semifinal – Zach Axmear (Iowa) won by fall over Nathan Swartz (Northern Illinois) (Fall 5:45)
1st Place Match – Zach Axmear (Iowa) won by medical forfeit over Gavin DeWitt (Maryville) (MFF)

Open 157 —  Joe Kelly — 2nd place
Champ. Round 1 – Joe Kelly (Iowa) received a bye () (Bye)
Quarterfinal – Joe Kelly (Iowa) won in tie breaker – 1 over Zack Velasquez (Northern Illinois) (TB-1 4-2)
Semifinal – Joe Kelly (Iowa) won by major decision over Joshua Steele (Maryville) (Maj 13-4)
1st Place Match – Tanner Sparks (Maryville) won by major decision over Joe Kelly (Iowa) (Maj 11-2)

Open 165 — Preston Stephenson — 3rd place
Champ. Round 1 – Preston Stephenson (Iowa) received a bye () (Bye)
Quarterfinal – Preston Stephenson (Iowa) won by tech fall over Tad Griffith (Loras College) (TF 18-3)
Semifinal – Tyler Harrington (Maryville) won by fall over Preston Stephenson (Iowa) (Fall 1:37)
Cons. Semi – Preston Stephenson (Iowa) won by fall over Conner Villarmia (Maryville) (Fall 1:54)
3rd Place Match – Preston Stephenson (Iowa) won by decision over Matt Pratt (Maryville) (Dec 3-1)