4 Hawkeyes Advance Through Wrestle-backs

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19 | Hawk Talk Monthly — March | Big Ten Championships | Complete Notes (PDF) | Photo Gallery | I-Club Events Page

MINNEAPOLIS – University of Iowa wrestlers Austin DeSanto, Pat Lugo, Kaleb Young, and Jacob Warner advanced to the consolation finals of the 2019 Big Ten Wrestling Championships on Saturday afternoon at Williams Arena. 
DeSanto, the No. 2 seed at 133, scored four takedowns in the first period to build an 8-3 lead and went on to a 12-8 victory against No. 4 Roman Bravo-Young. DeSanto will wrestle Minnesota’s sixth-seeded Ethan Lizak for third place.
Lugo, the No. 3 seed at 149, scored takedowns in the first and third periods to defeat No. 4 Tommy Thorne, 6-4. He wrestles Wisconsin’s fifth-seeded Cole Martin for third place.
Young scored the deciding takedown in the final minute against Minnesota’s sixth-seeded Steve Bleise. The No. 5 seed at 157 will wrestle Michigan’s fourth-seeded Alec Pantaleo for third place.
Warner, the No. 3 seed at 197, shutout Purdue’s fourth-seeded Christian Brunner, 6-0. Warner will wrestle Nebraska’s fifth-seeded Eric Schultz in the consolation finals. Warner’s win earned him an automatic berth to the 2019 NCAA Championships in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.
Max Murin won his seventh-place bout, 3-1, over the top-seeded Michael Carr of Illinois. Murin and Carr traded escapes in the second and third periods before Murin finished a takedown in the final 20 seconds of the third.
Cash Wilcke suffered Iowa’s lone loss of the afternoon session. Wilcke dropped a 6-4 decision to Nebraska’s Tyler Venz.
Wilcke and Iowa’s consolation finalists return to the mat this afternoon. The Big Ten Championship finals begin today at 3:15 p.m. (CT) and are televised on BTN. Iowa’s Spencer Lee and Alex Marinelli wrestle for conference titles. The third- and fifth-place matches will be contested during the title match of each corresponding weight class. Those matches are streamed online at BTN2Go.
The Hawkeyes are in third place entering the final medal round.
133 – #2 Austin DeSanto (IA) dec. #4 Roman Bravo-Young (PSU), 12-8
149 – #3 Pat Lugo (IA) dec. #4 Thomas Thorn (MINN), 6-4
157 – #5 Kaleb Young (IA) dec. #6 Steve Bleise (MINN), 4-1
184 – #3 Tyler Venz (NEB) dec. #5 Cash Wilcke (IA), 6-4   
197 – #3 Jacob Warner (IA) dec. #4 Christian Brunner (PU), 6-0
141 – #7 Max Murin (IA) vs. #1 Michael Carr (ILL)
174 – #10 Mitch Bowman (IA) dec. #11 Carver James (ILL), 8-2
174 – #10 Mitch Bowman (IA) vs. #9 Joe Grello (RUT)
125 – #1 Sebastian Rivera (NU) vs. #2 Spencer Lee (IA)
165 – #1 Vincenzo Joseph (PSU) vs. #2 Alex Marinelli (IA)
133 — #2 Austin DeSanto vs. #6 Ethan Lizak (MINN)
149 – #3 Pat Lugo (IA) vs. #5 Cole Martin (WIS)
157 – #5 Kaleb Young (IA) vs. #4 Alec Pantaleo (MICH)
197 – #3 Jacob Warner (IA) vs. #5 Eric Shultz (NEB)
184 – #5 Cash Wilcke (IA) vs. #9 Nick Gravina (RUT)