Gustafson Named Finalist for Naismith Trophy

Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Hawk Talk Monthly — March | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2018-19

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior Megan Gustafson has been named one of four finalists for the 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Friday. The award recognizes the most outstanding women’s college basketball player.
Louisville’s Asia Durr, Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu, and Notre Dame’s Arike Ogunbowale round out the four finalists.
Gustafson has led the Hawkeyes to a 26-6 overall record. Iowa captured its first Big Ten Tournament Title since 2001 on March 10 behind Gustafson’s 45 point and 10 rebound performance against top-seeded Maryland. The tournament title secured a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament for the Hawkeyes, marking Iowa’s highest seed since 1996.
The ESPNW Player of the Year ranks in the top-four nationally in eight categories. She leads the country in field goal percentage (69.6), points per game (28.0), total points (897), and field goals made (369), ranks second in double-doubles (30) and defensive rebounds per game (10), third in total rebounds (424), and fourth in rebounds per game (13.3).
A native of Port Wing, Wisconsin, Gustafson is the only Hawkeye in program history to win the Big Ten Conference’s Player of the Year award twice. She is the ninth two-time recipient in conference history.
Gustafson looks to become the first from the Big Ten to win the Naismith Trophy.
Beginning today, fans will have a chance to vote for their favorite finalist through April 3, by visiting to cast their ballot. The fan vote will account for five percent of the overall vote. The 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year will be announced on April 6, and the winner will be honored at her school on a later date.
Gustafson and the No. 8/8 Hawkeyes open NCAA Tournament action today, hosting 15th-seeded Mercer at 1 p.m. (CT). The game will be broadcast locally on ESPN2 and streamed nationwide on WatchESPN.

FFI footer