Hawkeyes Lead Country with 8 NWCA Academic Honorees

Hawk Talk Monthly — May | 24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2019-20 | Hawkeye Fan Shop — A Black & Gold Store | Carver Circle

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa wrestling team set a school record and led the nation with eight wrestlers named to the 2020 National Wrestling Coaches Association Division I All-Academic Team, the NWCA announced Thursday.

Spencer Lee, Max Murin, Kaleb Young, Alex Marinelli, Michael Kemerer, Abe Assad, Jacob Warner, and Tony Cassioppi are among the 175 athletes from 63 institutions to earn recognition. To be eligible, student-athletes must have a 3.2 grade point average and have won 60 percent of their matches, or maintain a 3.0 GPA while earning All-America honors.

Lee and Marinelli were named to the team for the third straight year. Kemerer is also a three-time honoree, earning honors in 2017 and 2018. Warner and Young are two-time recipients. The NWCA honors are the firsts for Murin, Assad, and Cassioppi.

Iowa has had 42 NWCA Scholar All-Americans since Tom Brands was named head coach in 2006.

The complete release from the NWCA is at nwcaonline.com.