Clark Named Naismith Player of the Year Semifinalist

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa freshman Caitlin Clark was named a 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Player of the Year Award semifinalist, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Tuesday.

The list of semifinalists includes 11 student-athletes, including three underclassmen, Clark, South Carolina’s sophomore Aliyah Boston, and UConn’s freshman Paige Bueckers. The Big Ten conference is represented by Clark and Michigan’s Naz Hillmon. The list also includes Charli Collier (Texas), Elissa Cunane (NC State), Dana Evans (Louisville), Rhyne Howard (Kentucky), Aari McDonald (Arizona), Michaela Onyenwere (UCLA), and NaLyssa Smith (Baylor).

Clark leads the nation in total points, recording 564 on the season. She ranks second in total assists (149), assists per game (7.1), points per game (26.9), 3-pointers made (82), triple doubles (1), and 3-point field goal attempts (202).

The West Des Moines, Iowa, native ranks in the top-50, nationally, in seven additional statistical categories, including third in field goals made (188) and 3-pointers per game (3.9), eighth in field goal attempts (394), 17th in free throws made (106), 28th in free throw attempts (125), 44th in 3-point percentage (40.6), and 45th in free-throw percentage (84.8).

Clark has also been named a Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award finalist, a Dawn Staley Late Season Watch List honoree, and a World Exposure Women’s Basketball Freshman of the Year semifinalist.

Clark and the Hawkeyes travel to Bloomington, Indiana, to take on the No. 10/11 Hoosiers on Wednesday, March 3 inside Assembly Hall. Tipoff is set for 3:30 p.m. (CT) on Big Ten Network.