McCaffery, Ortega Earn Iowa’s B1G Outstanding Sportsmanship Award

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Redshirt sophomore Patrick McCaffery (men’s basketball) and sophomore Bailey Ortega (volleyball) have been selected as Iowa’s 2022 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners. The duo was chosen from Iowa’s list of 2021-22 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winners, which had a representative from each varsity sport.

McCaffery started 32 games on the nationally ranked and Big Ten Tournament championship men’s basketball squad. He ranked third on the team in points (10.5) and free throws made (1.7) per game, fourth in rebounds (3.6), 3-pointers made (1.03) and blocks (0.5) per game, and second in field goals made (3.9) and attempted (9.2) per contest. McCaffery was the co-recipient of the team’s Kenny Arnold Hawkeye Spirit Award following the season, which is presented to the Hawkeye(s) who exemplifies Arnold’s spirit of leadership, character, courage, determination and poise, and inspires teammates to be their very best. The small forward posted single season bests in every statistical category. He reached double figures 21 times in 2022, including leading the team in scoring (18) and 3-pointers made (4) in Iowa’s NCAA Tournament game versus Richmond (18).

Ortega started 27 of the 30 games for Iowa and saw action in all 107 sets for the Hawkeyes. She led the team in assists (838) and assists per set (7.83). She ranked third on the team in serving percentage (.918). She recorded double digit assists in all but one contest, amassing at least 40 assists six times. Ortega recorded a career high 57 assists against Air Force on September 17, the first Hawkeye to record 50 or more assists since 2019. She was named to the Academic All-Big Ten and the Fall Dean’s List. ​Ortega is ranked 10th at Iowa in all-time assists with 1225.

The Big Ten first awarded the Outstanding Sportsmanship honor in 2003. The student-athletes chosen were individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior, were in good academic standing, and demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Following is a list of Iowa’s past Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners:

Year Men’s Award Winner Women’s Award Winner
2003 Stuart Waters, Men’s Tennis Kristin Johnson, Softball
2004 Nate Kaeding, Football Laura Chipman, Softball
2005 Joe Johnston, Wrestling Jennifer Skolaski, Swimming & Diving
2006 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Liz Grajewski, Women’s Gymnastics
2007 Adam Haluska, Men’s Basketball Kara Zappone, Field Hockey
2008 Bart van Monsjou, Men’s Tennis Brittany Keyes, Rowing
2009 Christian Bierich, Men’s Tennis Wendy Ausdemore, Women’s Basketball
2010 A.J. Edds, Football Laura Cilek, Women’s Golf
2011 Chris Brant, Men’s Golf Kelsey Cermak, Women’s Basketball
2012 Matt Gatens, Men’s Basketball Betsy Flood, Women’s Track & Field
2013 Eric May, Men’s Basketball Mareike Schrulle, Women’s Cross Country
2014 James Morris, Football Theairra Taylor, Women’s Basketball
2015 Mark Weisman, Football Melissa Dixon, Women’s Basketball
2016 Drew Ott, Football Amy Ihm, Women’s Golf
2017 Nicholas Baer, Men’s Basketball Sophie Plasteras, Field Hockey
2018 Spencer Lee, Wrestling Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball
2019 Alex Marinelli, Wrestling Hannah Stewart, Women’s Basketball
2020 Connor McCaffery, Men’s Basketball Makenzie Meyer, Women’s Basketball
2021 Mehki Sargent, Football Kate Martin, Women’s Basketball
2022 Patrick McCaffery, Men’s Basketball Bailey Ortega, Volleyball