2 Incoming Hawkeyes Win Fargo National Titles; 4 Earn All-America Honors

FARGO, N.D. – Incoming University of Iowa wrestlers Aiden Riggins and Bradley Hill won national titles at the Junior Nationals Freestyle Championships on Tuesday at the FargoDome. The Hawkeyes had a total of four incoming wrestlers earn All-America honors.

Iowa’s nine wrestlers in attendance posted a 44-13 record during the tournament.

Riggins rolled to the title at 160 pounds, winning his eight matches by a combined score of 95-17. The Janesville, Iowa, native defeated California’s Nicco Ruiz in the title bout, 15-8.

It was an all-Hawkeye final at 220 pounds featuring Bettendorf’s Bradley Hill and Kolby Franklin of DuBois, Pennsylvania. Hill got the best of his future teammate, winning 10-7, to win the national title.

Hill won his seven matches by a combined total of 79-14, while Franklin rolled to the title match, outscoring his opponents, 59-14, before finishing as the 220-pound runner-up.

Joel Jesuroga placed fourth at 145 pounds, going 9-2 in the tournament. After being edged, 4-3, by Minnesota’s Zach Hanson in his third match, Jesuroga reeled off seven straight victories before falling a second time to Hanson, 3-2, to place fourth.

Team Iowa finished with 13 total All-Americans, including four national champions, and the team accumulated 214 points – 98 more than second-place Pennsylvania.

Fargo All-Americans
Aiden Riggins – 1st place – 160 pounds
Bradley Hill – 1st place – 220 pounds
Kolby Franklin – 2nd place – 220 pounds
Joel Jesuroga – 4th place – 145 pounds

Individual Results

Ethan Fleshman (285)
Def. Ryan Smith (Tennessee), 6-4
Lost Alex Hamrick (Illinois), 5-2
Lost Emmanuel Ulrich (Pennsylvania), 7-0

Kolby Franklin (220) – All-American (Second Place)
Def. Noah Hutmacher (South Dakota), 14-4
Def. Jackson Barnhart (Illinois), 11-0
Def. Steven Burrell, Jr. (New York), 17-7
Def. Kyle Snider (Ohio), 12-2
Def. Sawyer Bartelt (Florida), 5-1
Lost Bradley Hill (Iowa), 10-7

Bradley Hill (220) – National Champion
Def. Bryson Buhk (Illinois), 12-0
Def. Gunner Hoffmann (Wisconsin), 13-3
Def. Pierce Cunningham (Kansas), 10-0
Def. Zachary Delsanter (Ohio), 14-4
Def. Carson Floyd (North Carolina), 10-0
Def. Kall Wynia (Minnesota), 10-0
Def. Kolby Franklin (Iowa), 10-7

Joel Jesuroga (145) – All-American (Fourth Place)
Def. Javanshir Mirza zada (Colorado), 5-0
Def. Joe Davl (New Jersey), 6-1
Lost Zach Hanson (Minnesota), 4-3
Def. Sean Solis (California), 10-3
Def. Zachary Marrero (Colorado), 11-0
Def. Koy Buesgens (Minnesota)
Def. August Hibler (New Jersey), 6-0
Def. KJ Evans (Oklahoma), 9-1
Def. Gavin Drexler (Wisconsin), 2-1
Def. Dylan Gilcher (Michigan), 3-1
Lost Zach Hanson (Minnesota), 3-2

Carter Martinson (152)
Def. Cutter Sheets (Oklahoma), 10-7
Def. Connor Gregory (New York), 13-0)
Lost Jeremiah Price (North Carolina), 5-4
Def. Kael Volnovich (Oklahoma), 14-3
Def. Taythan Silva (Illinois), 11-2
Def. Landen Johnson (Minnesota), 12-2)
Lost Dylan Evans (Pennsylvania), 9-8

Carson Martinson (160)
Def. Destin Kohler (Alaska), 10-0
Def. Mason Alessio (Illinois), 9-6
Lost Jed Wester (Minnesota), 13-3
Lost Dominic Frontino (Pennsylvania), 4-0

Drake Rhodes (160)
Def. Silas Dailey (Wisconsin), 17-7
Def. Michael Duggan (Pennsylvania), 10-0
Lost Carter Schubert (New York), 6-4
Lost Logan Swaw (Illinois), 18-15

Jace Rhodes (132)
Def. Corban Zugelder (Oklahoma), 13-3
Lost Jaxon Joy (Ohio), 11-1
Def. Nicholas Blackburn (Ohio), 12-2
Def. Tyler Rhue (Washington), 12-2
Def. Alex Fernandez (Washington), 10-0
Def. Ramon Salazar (Colorado), 11-1
Lost Jaxon Joy (Ohio), 12-4

Aiden Riggins (160) – National Champion
Def. Tristan Petrykievicz (Alaska), 11-0
Def. Charles Powers (Nebraska), 10-0
Def. Mateo De la Pena (Washington), 10-0
Def. Jeb Prechtel (Indiana), 14-2
Def. Cash Stewart (Wisconsin), 13-2
Def. Cooper Willis (Wisconsin), 14-4
Def. Rafael Hipolito (Virginia), 8-1
Def. Nicco Ruiz (California), 15-8